Zanzibar


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
September 13th 2010
Published: June 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I've gotten poor at journaling in the last weeks. I feel like I'm writing a lot more about my thoughts than the day to day happenings. But, the days are pretty standard. We are still teaching three days a week at musa and the kids seem to really like it. However, unfortunately Katie has gone home and I have a new teaching partner helping Frank and I. I don't like him as much as Katie, but oh well! The big news, this past weekend went to Zanzibar. Zanizibar is this little island off the coast of Tanzania that is a pretty common destination for European vacations. Because the volunteers always use the same hotel, they give us a really good discount. The hotel is gorgeous, and the sand is unlike anything I've ever felt. When it's dry, it is extrememly fine and white. When it gets wet it turns into very soft clay. How cool! It was nice to relax on our shukas (blankets) for a few days and soak up the sun. We also took a spice tour. Zanzibar grows so many spices! I drank out of a coconut and watched a man shimmy up a palm tree and proceed to sing a song from the top. If you're ever in Africa, take time to visit this beauty if you're into the beach.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.033s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb