Nice's 6th Birthday


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
October 20th 2010
Published: October 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today is Nice's 6th b'day so before heading to Shangarai for the English tuition I went to buy her a cake and some candles.
When we got there, Nice and Wisdom were having a bath...well, they were washing them inside a bucket; I am gald I gave them some towels and soap cause they were using them.
They looked soooo happy when they saw Angela and I and of course all the rest of the kids were around too.
I went to hug the b;day girl and went inside with Mama Nice to light the candles!
You should have seen their faces when they saw the candles on...as of course they had never seen them before though their eyes were more on the cake.
After blowing the candles I cut a piece of cake and gave it to Nice, Mama Nice, Wisdom and a piece to al te other kids, around 12 of them. It is shocking their politeness; i only gave them a small piece but they all were so grateful;I wish i had taken more;
After that it was class time so i told then Twende Tuition (Go to tuition now) and we all left.
It was a lovely day! Angela's group had fun learning with her (Angela is a Canadian teacher volnering for 1 year but bfore joining her next job she has offered her help which I appreciate a lot).
I was with the nursery group and we worked on letter a and capital A. It is sad to see how terrible the Tanzanian education is. They learn by heart and nobody bothers to make them think but we are! they are bright kids very eager to lear. Imagine that after a long day in school where some of the chores are cleaning the filthy toilets and classrooms with almost no food on their stomachs, then they go to tuition for 1.5 hours and then they go back home to help with the chores there such as going for water, wood etc! we always see them on our way out carrying the buckets on their heads.
Going thermakes me very happy specially cause from the minute we arrive till we park all the children shout my name, from he road, the houses, everywhere so it makes me feel very special and as soon as I get off the car they all run to hug me! it is an amazing feeling and whoever goes there falls in love with those wonderful children.

After tuition it is hard to send them home as it seems they do not wish to leave us!

Look and enjoy the pictures!!! I hope you can share some of my happiness through them!







Additional photos below
Photos: 55, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb