Tanzania-part 1


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
March 18th 2008
Published: March 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sam and I spent our first month with my uncle Erwin and cousins Ethan, Elliot, and Eric. I've never found it so difficult to write about an experience. It was so different, and at first so overwhelming. Nothing I write will do it any kind of justice. My family was excellent at hosting. Erwin made us feel welcome forever, Ethan was thoughtful and goofy, Elliot was serious and silly, and Eric quiet and gracious (and a little silly too). My uncle was born and raised in VT and my cousins have all gone to college in the states, but Tanzania is the only place they call home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

HikingHiking
Hiking

Ethan, Casey, Elliot We went on great hikes near my uncle's place in Ngaromtoni (sp?) This was a crater with a panoramic view of huts, crop lands, and distant plateaus.
Brass BandBrass Band
Brass Band

The boys all play music and sing. They all speak Swahili fluently and know countless other languages too. Talented buggers those Africans.
Erwin's GardensErwin's Gardens
Erwin's Gardens

We ate fresh greens, papaya, bananas, tree tomatoes, and macadamia nuts from these gardens. there were also amazing night blooming cactus, orchids, jacarandas, and birds of paradise to name a few.
FoodFood
Food

Erwin and I are making Christmas cookies-they need A LOT of patience. We also ate homemade cheeses and yogurt and even homemade vinegar from pineapple rinds that was drizzled on a fresh salad from the garden everyday.
Heavy BurdenHeavy Burden
Heavy Burden

When carrying a large box in front of me I was told by a local, "Here in Tanzania we carry heavy items on our heads." Women carried buckets of water, grain, groceries, seeds, and firewood and of coarse, bananas on their heads. Men seemed to favor the wheeled cart.
Foxy SoxyFoxy Soxy
Foxy Soxy

Beloved puppy, soccer ball deflater, and not so vicious guard dog of Erwin's farm.


19th March 2008

Wonderful!! More pictures please
Hey there sweets. So good to have your blog back in my favorites list. I missed it. I miss you. Hope that your trip down to KY (jelly) was uneventful and quick. I love the Africa pictures -- PLEASE Post more so that I can stare and loose myself in them. HUGS, Jenn

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb