When Will I Sleep Again?


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
January 20th 2008
Published: January 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Habari Asubuhi (How are you this morning?)?! I tossed and turned this morning until I decided to go ahead and get up. I was hoping it would be at least 4:00 or 5:00 am, but, as it turns out, it is only 12:30 am. How crazy is that! It's not as bad as it sounds however. I had one of my weekly headaches so I went to bed very early. Still, what to do, what to do...? I decided I could use this time to catch everyone up on our experiences in getting settled in. Africa certainly wastes no time "breaking you in". We've been here less than a week and have already seen some crazy things. I wrote in my last report about trying to find a stock pot that I felt I could afford, so I decided to forget about the stainless steel pots and go to the ally market and get an aluminum one. So... several of us girls- Stephanie, me, Maddie, Joy and Lindsey Jensen accompanied by Race and Israel set out to do just that. We went down to the market to find a pot and stopped at the first shop we came to in the ally. Israel asked the price of the aluminum pot and they told us $100.00! Israel told them to keep their pot and we walked away. Apparantly there is the Tanzanian price and then there is the "Wazungu" (white people) price. When the man saw we were not going to buy it he followed us all over the market and eventually came down to $17.00! Israel still told him to keep it because he tried to cheat his American friends. I was so glad to have Israel with us. At one point however, Israel walked away when I was bargaining with a lady for some food warmers. She had a set of 5 and wanted 50,000 shillings. Well, I wanted to give her 25,000. And it's strange here. All the people from all the shops get involved in the bargaining, even if it's not their stuff. One of them kept insisting I pay 27,000, but I put my foot down and said Hapana (no) so, the lady who owned the shop said "okay, 25000". Well, the guy who insisted I pay 27 was so mad that they had settled that he threw the warmer down and started yelling at the rest of them and they began yelling back all arms flailing- (a far cry from Wal-mart where you can't find anyone to help you). So, I paid the lady as quicklly as possible, grabbed my warmers and decided to let them work it out amongst themselves! It was an exhausting experience. I don't think I like shopping anymore.
So, it's going to take some getting used to around here. However, I don't think I'll ever get used to seeing people die in accidents on the side of the road! We had dinner with the Bakers the other night, afterward, John was bringing us back to Cy and Stephanie's house, when all of a sudden he slammed on the brakes. There was a man lying on the side of the road. He was on a bicycle and either got hit or fell and hit his head very hard. He was laying there motionless with his eyes wide open. It was very frightening and very sad. John could not stop so we could help. In Tanzania, if a Wazungu hits someone or it even looks like he hit someone and he gets out to help, the mob mentality often takes over and he can lose his life. So, if we hit someone, we cannot stop, but are to go straight to the nearest police station and report the accident. I was thankful that Maddie was sitting on the other side of the car and did not get a good look at the man. I think it would have given her night mares. It was scarey enough for her (and the rest of us) as it was.
Well, I have certainly rattled on. If you're going to get a lot of detailed information I guess it's going to be in the middle of the night when I can't sleep. We are hoping to be in our house tomorrow or Tuesday. It's coming together slowly but surely.
Worship today was amazing and it is fascinating to see the simularities and differences of our cultures in worship. Worship here can last 2 1/2- 3 hours easy and no one wiggles (except us Wazungus!). We are all enjoying Tanzania very much so far, but we miss all our loved ones in the States too. It's good that we stay busy so we don't think about it too much. We love you all and we appreciate all your sacrifices that make it possible for us to be here. With much love in Christ, Anita


Advertisement



21st January 2008

Welcome to Tanzania
We did have an interesting day shopping, didn't we. :) I'm glad Lindsey and I were able to spend the day with you. I know you'll be glad to get settled into your house. See you soon. Joy
21st January 2008

I am so glad you cant sleep, so we can here all about your adventures in Africa! Just kidding! Hope you guys can adjust soon. Cliff said he would have liked to been at the market with you bargaining, you know how he likes to barter :) Well we miss you and love you, keep the posts coming!
21st January 2008

Sleep
Well at least you went to bed early not like when you were a teenager and stayed up till 2 or 3 in the morning before you did. I'm sorry you are still having your headaches. I was hoping they would go away over there because of the different climate. I really do enjoy your comments and am so excited for you. So many wonderful new experiences and I'm sure you will have more of the not so pleasant ones too. That, too, is a difference in our cultures. I'm sure it makes you a little impatient with the mind set and attitudes back home. I expect life will become more "real" as each day passes and each event unfolds. I love you so much. Tell my kids that I hug them in my dreams. Love always, AJ
10th February 2008

Glad you made it
Hi Anita. I am glad to have remembered your blog and logged on tonight. I hope you start getting some sleep! Our committee meets tomorrow for a time of prayer for our missionaries and we will be praying for you and Sean and your family. Thank you for your sacrifices to be there and your dedication to our Lord as your serve Him in a distant land. We love you all.

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb