We're Here!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
January 18th 2008
Published: January 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Mzuri Asubuhi! Good Morning! Yes, we are here and all very well. What a trip! It went seamlessly and what a blessing. We arrived late night before last and hit the ground running yesterday morning. We are currently staying with Cy and Stephanie Stafford and having a wonderful time. They have been so gracious to let us intrude. As you may know, Cy and Stephanie just moved into their new house 9 days ago. They are trying to get ready to leave for furlough, and now, on top of all of that, they have house guests! Needless to say, we are trying to get out of their hair and in to our own home as soon as possible. It just takes time- especially in Africa- when you don't know what you're doing. Cy and Stephanie have been wonderful. They have taken us where we need to go to find some of our furniture and appliances. Today our mission is to find paint for the house and dishes, plates etc. Sounds easy, right? Not if I'm going to stay within budget. Things are not as inexpensive as we had hoped, but I'm proud of my purchases so far and feel I will find what I need for the price I need if I just keep looking. Does anyone know if, what they say about aluminum pans, is true or not? If I buy a large stock pot in town it may cost me $100.00- yes, you read that right. However, if I buy it at the market (aluminum) I can probably get it for $10.00. So I'm thinking, unless we'll all get alzhimers (sp?) from aluminum (in just 3 years) that may be the way to go.

All this rambling about pots and pans may be due to a lack of sleep. Jet lag in reverse? I'm not sleepy! I got up at 4:45 this morning and Sean joined me to watch the sun rise over Mt. Meru- really something to see. It is very beautiful here and we're happy to be here. I will tell you, however, I'm already a little homesick. Please know you're all in my thoughts and prayers and I will look forward to any news from home. Hugs and kisses, Anita

P.S. I will post pictures when we get in to our house. I already have quite a few to share (the sunrise here in Kisango for one).

Advertisement



19th January 2008

Aluminum Pans and Alzheimer's
Well, I am so glad that you made it there and are already gathering things for your home. Let me just say that I have used Club Aluminum pans for our entire married life. I prefer aluminum if it's thick-seems to heat more evenly. Hope you can get settled in very soon. The sunrise sounds beautiful-wish I could have seen it. Just a little note in case you haven't heard from Mary, she will have her surgery on the 6th of Feb. I plan on going over for a few days to help out, even though she assured me that she has everything covered. You know how she is so dad-blame independent! lol... anyway she thinks she's gonna be up and at 'em in a couple of days. I hope she is right, but I fear not. Take care and keep in touch. Love you. AJ

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb