My first hot, smelly week in Africa...


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
April 21st 2007
Published: April 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

...has been insightful. I have been busy since the moment I got here with my placement, cultural visits and the occasional evening out! I am pleased to report that I had my first glass of red wine last night at the bar next to our home-base and it tasted very good.

I spend weekday mornings at the TUPO community centre in Tenguru. All the members there have HIV or AIDS. There are three volunteers at the centre so it is less intimidating than being the only mzungu (white person). We have primarily been teaching English to AIDS orphans at the day care. There are only 8 of the kids there at the moment because of the Easter holidays. I don't know how we will cope when the other 40 arrive in the next couple of weeks! Aside from teaching 5/6 year olds we attend group support sessions at an HIV testing clinic and I participated in a community visit last Wednesday. This was the hardest thing I have had to do in my short time here. I caught the dala-dala (an extremely crazy minibus full of people, goats and chickens) into town with one of the community centre members. The member did not speak any English which was tough. We went into the slums where people live in one room huts, cook on a fire and basically don't have anything. The first lady I visited is dying from AIDS. I sat in her small room whilst she cooked porridge over a small fire. The food looked like black sludge, and the whole room smelled really stale. There was no plumbing or electricity and there was raw sewage running outside her small door. I have never been so humbled in my life. All I could do for her was give her some rice, smile and listen. It is tough to witness, but I suppose that these people don't know any other way of life, and they somehow adapt to this extreme poverty. I am amazed at how they cope, but they do.

On a different, amusing note; I will be playing football in the Arusha Town Football Club stadium on Monday afternoon! It is a sponsored event for the TUPO centre. Our volunteers play (in Juventus kits) against the TUPO members. It has already been advertised on local radio and we expect a huge crowd (in the thousands). I promise I will get pictures. Thankfully we only have to play 25 min each way. The event is used to spread AIDS awareness in the local community by distributing educational flyers during the match. All the TUPO members have HIV/AIDS and so the aim of the match is to demonstrate that those who have HIV and those who don't, can still mix and have fun at the same time.

Overall, my first week here has been filled with new sights, smells, tastes and sounds. I can't wait for the next thirteen!




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

This is where I live..This is where I live..
This is where I live..

..my room is top left


22nd April 2007

Dude, I am very proud of you for what you are doing. Rock on!
22nd April 2007

Jealous
Very jealous of the football thing (surprise) I have only ever played in front of old men with dogs on a Sunday morning!! Brilliant news though, about the wine! Sounds like you are going to experience lots of wonderful and not so wonderful things out there, I feel really humbled just reading about that poor woman while I lie here with my feet up on the sofa watching TV with a drink of juice. It is another world, and I am sure you will appreciate so much more what you have when you return. If you get the chance, go to the foals on myspace and listen to their tune called hummer, it is really doing it for me at the moment. There are loads of ace tunes at the moment, I will let you know more in time. Will send you an email tomorrow, hope you have enjoyed your weekend off! I certainly did. See ya Matt xxx
23rd April 2007

wow
am so proud of you Suze!!! thinking of you x
23rd April 2007

A quick hello
Hi Suzie Just wanted to say hello and glad to hear you're having an amazing time. This travelblog is a fab idea! Looking forward to the piccies of the football match. Take care xxx
24th April 2007

Hey Suzie, Sounds like you've been busy in your first week! Good to hear from you and pleased you're settling in ok. Sounds like it's hard work and pretty harrowing at times. Can't wait to hear about the footie! I'll email you soon. Jen x
26th April 2007

Red wine!!!
Typical you, in the depths of extreme poverty you still manage to find a nice red wine, only you!! lol Hope everything is going well suz Paul x

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb