February 28th - March 2nd


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha » Arusha City
March 7th 2014
Published: March 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post


One section of road we walk down to get to town.
On Friday, school was hectic. We didn't have our normal driver and the new one didn't know the route. I wasn't sure of the way neither so we had to get the teachers out earlier to help. Then they had to go on the second drive, so they were late for school. Along with the other volunteers. So we had to run their classes as best as we could. Elizabeth also had to go to the clinic so I had to take her class, even when the other teachers came back. Quite the morning. I went to town in the afternoon, to connect with wifi. Each time I travel into town, I am struck again by how different the world can be, and how adaptable we humans are. I squeeze against the thorn bushes to get out of the way of passing cars. Their dust rises in the super heated air and coats every inch of you. The dirt road takes 15 minutes to walk to where the dala route passes. I squeeze into the dala, with 18 others. I'm the last in and stand crouched over in the door well until someone gets off. At the end of the dala route, I walk through town to the westernized restaurants with wifi. The street is full of people walking, woman with huge bags of yams on their heads or loads of coal, dalas passing with drivers whistling and calling for you to get in, people seated in front of tiny store fronts watching as you pass. And always there is someone calling out hi, jambo, mambo, how are you, where are you from? Greetings are important even when aimed at the Mazunge (white person).

Jacob and I returned to town to shop on Saturday. We went to the Masaii market, where Jacob got his first experience with bartering. We met one shop owner who didn't force us in to his shop and once we had talked for awhile and bought some of his wares, he gave Jacob a bracelet and told him to take care of his mother.

We stayed home all of Sunday, taking a lazy day. Each day we are here, I become closer to Elizabeth our host. She tells me more of her story and invites me to sit with her. I'm never allowed to help with the work around the house, but she wants to include me in her day. I will miss her and regret that I will not meet her baby coming in 3 months. Once again, it was nice to take as day off, it will probably be the last before we leave.

Good Night and Sweet Dreams

Advertisement



Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.1005s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb