Tuesday 22nd July


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » East
July 23rd 2008
Published: July 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

In the morning I really wanted to see if my parents e-mailed me back. Sheila woke me up at 7, I got some toast & took it to the computer. I could see that I had an e-mail from each of them but it just would not open. I really don’t know why, I tried so many times & it wouldn’t work. I was gutted, had to go to work wondering what it said. I really didn’t want them to hate me, don’t mind if they do when I’m at home, but it’s different here, haha. I was so excited to go to work & see all the children. The bell rang while I was on the computer so I ran to the van. We’ve swapped drivers with Trev, I’m not sure why. He just said he’d be taking us today. He dropped me off 4th as normal & I excitedly ran into my classroom. The children looked so happy to see me & they started clapping for me. Bless them; I was to take them all home! The morning went really quickly. The teacher got a stick out today, I thought she was going to hit the children with it but she didn’t. She just used it to point to the chalk board. I only taught one lesson today, half an hour of “art.” She just said “teach art.” Not because she’s rude, just as she has limited English. I’m the worst artist in the world so I just drew really simple things on the board & got the children to say what they were, or guess at least. I drew an elephant & they all shouted “chicken!” I was like, yeah obviously. After realising how awful I was I just drew a sun & a cup. I then got each child up individually to draw something & the rest of the class had to guess what it was. After they got bored of that I drew shapes on the board & asked them what they were. They have no idea what shapes are so I’ll have to teach them more of that. Soon it was break time & we all played monsters outside in the rain. That consists of basically running around the garden with your tongues out making monster noises. I named the game monsters as that’s what they look like. We then went inside & the teacher taught maths while I helped anyone who had a problem. At quarter past 11 I kept looking out the window to see where the bus was as that’s the time he usually picks me up. I ended up waiting outside the school sat on my own for an hour waiting for the driver. He didn’t tell me what time he’d be picking me up but I assumed it would be the same time the other driver used to pick us up. I planned how I’d get home if he didn’t turn up in another hour. So glad he did in the end! Didn’t feel like catching a cab home. Everyone was really annoyed (including me) that they had to stand in the rain & cold waiting for the bus. We arrived home 10 minutes before lunch, we’re usually here an hour before so I didn’t have time to shower. After a lush lunch of carrot soup (not as nice as Mr. Baglow’s mind) I slept for half an hour. We then had an educational talk on gender issues in Tanzania by a woman who was a local lawyer. She was a huge feminist & obviously very proud for what she believed in. She taught us about how men treat women in the home & what the law was. She said that if a local woman went to the police because she’d been beaten by her husband then they wouldn’t do anything about it. They’d tell her just to go home & accept it. Men say that when they beat their wife it means they love them. The talk was very interesting, kind of sounded like Britain 50 years ago but less extreme. We then had a Swahili lesson; I can’t keep up with them anymore! I know how to say Hello so that’s fine by me. We were learning proper confusing things today. After the lesson I went on the internet. I had to get someone else at home to go on my e-mails & copy & paste them to me through msn. It was so stupid & took forever but I finally got to read them to find out my parents didn’t hate me. They said some lovely things to me & it made me feel so much better to know I was loved. They’re in Devon at the moment on a break so that should be good for them to take some time away. Luv ya parents, don’t worry about me anymore! We were meant to be visiting an orphanage at half 4, it was optional & only me, Trev & Mel wanted to go. It was a huge shame, they just cancelled it, I really wanted to go. Trev & I just stayed on the internet until dinner time, the computer’s so slow we only got to do like 2 things. I e-mailed my Mam & we spoke to Chetch on msn. Us 3 & Mel were the only ones at home base, everyone else went to town. I would have liked to have gone but we didn’t even realise they had gone when they did & by then it was too late. Most of them stayed in town & ate there so there were only about 15 of us to eat all the lush pizza they made us. It was so nice, veg pizza, yumm! We then played cards & went on the computer some more. We came to bed quite late as we have a late start tomorrow! At the moment I’m lying in bed on my top bunk with Trev opposite me colouring in. Sheila & Bridget are below us sleeping & I’m going to sleep now, it’s really late. Tomorrow we’re having a day off work & going to the waterfalls that we went to last year. I was looking at the itinerary & it looks exactly the same as what we did, I’m still going to do it though. It’ll be great to remember everything again. I’m definitely going to go under the waterfall again, mustn’t forget my camera! Just set my alarm for 8, wooo! Luxury. Hopefully I’ll post this blog tomorrow (Wednesday) as I can’t do it now, they shut the door to the computer at 10ish. Keep the lovely messages & comments coming & if anyone speaks to my parents tell them to stop worrying! Nice one, speak soon : ) Caitlin x

Advertisement



23rd July 2008

proper english
hi door ta. nice to hear what you've been up to, especially your art lesson which was very funny to read. when you were drawing your shapes on the board i expected Wilfrid (?) to shout out 'Tetrahedron' or 'Trapezium' or 'Rhombus'. keep the blogs coming but try and find a thesaurus so you can find out alternative adjectives for 'proper'!!!!!!! Mr Baglow (sir) xxxxx love you.
23rd July 2008

Waterfall!
You must go in! I can't wait to hear about your experience and see your pics! So you are going back next summer???? I am planning on it! Can't wait! I'll be in touch!
28th July 2008

art
ahahahhahaha. art made me laugh :) told you i'd read it! sounds like your having a good time :) now to read the rest of the blogs!
29th July 2008

why has everything gone quiet. Haloooooooooooooooooooooooooo.

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb