So......there's dinosaurs in Africa?


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » East » Dar es Salaam
May 16th 2016
Published: May 16th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Ok...for my family who everyday ask if I heard about the new dinosaur find in Alberta....I study humans. We may follow the same parameters of natural selection and evolution but in the grand scheme of things, we are slightly more complex in our own right. So what is it I do? Because as it stands now, I do all this work for no pay and its not a "real job".

For anyone who has ever followed the path of archaeological 'enlightenment', you know that the hell we go through to obtain a degree is exhaustive. The work we do is labourous. The time spent haunched over a microscope, computer, or assemblage is why we wear glasses, have a chiropractor on speed dial, and have a main line of Timmies coffee streaming into our veins. Then why do we do it? Why? Answer...for the love of humanity. For the love of modernity. For the love of the intricacies that make us the unique, bad ass individuals we started as, evolved into and exhibit everyday in this life. It's true, the majority of us don't make a shit ton of money and really, the life of a grad student is less than glamorous and yes our "career is in ruins" literally for some, metaphorically for most....but man, I wouldn't ask for any other path--even though it takes me away from my beautiful daughters for a brief moment in the grand scheme of life.

So what do I do? What do I study, and how do I contribute to the plethora of individuals that make up the vast knowledge of East African archaeology. I look at dirt. Glamorous, I know. I look at dirt and I tell you what you need to know about past environments, diet, the florescence of modern human behaviour and yes I can even tell you what the temperature was at that specific moment in time. Ok...Ok...its not that easy. East Africa chronologies suck. Let's face it. There isn't enough data available for us to make proper inferences on our behavioural evolution. But, that's my endgame. That's the Holy Grail.

I hope you stick with me as I embark on my adventure with the Iringa Region Archaeological Project (IRAP). We are a group of arkie students and profs from the University of Alberta and MacEwan University (Jeff, Jenn, Ames, Pastori, Pam and Katie) who are excited to teach you all the wonderment that is East Africa archaeology. We will let you know of our adventures, discoveries and hopefully little misfortunes this summer in Iringa, Tanzania.

Countdown...T-49 days.



(photo credit: Pam Willoughby)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb