Day 9


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » East » Dar es Salaam
July 31st 2010
Published: July 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

I slept through breakfast which was magical. I'm a little disappointed that I missed pancakes and coffee but it would probably do too much to remind me of home. On the weekend mornings Dan makes pancakes or french toast and I brew up some coffee and read in my chair--puppy in my lap, Van making a "car" with blankets and pillows on my legs and feet and Max trying to squeeze in somewhere. I'm missing that this weekend. Starting to miss church and my friends too. It's only been a week, but having no contact with them is so odd. I laze the day away playing plants vs. zombies, a ridiculously addictive game on the Ipod Dan suggested to me last night. It's quite lovely wasting the day away in my room. I haven't had a chance to be lazy in quite some time.

I got two new roommates today. Both sweet girls from around London and quite a bit younger than me--20 and 21. It's funny to me to see them blowdring their hair (I didn't bring my dryer) and putting on their makeup (haven't used a stitch yet). What a difference 10 years can make. I remember being like them, getting excited to go out with everyone and wanting to look my best. Saturday nights were the highlight of my week. Now, at 31, I prefer my non-hungover Saturday mornings😊 One of them, F, asks me how old I am. 31 I say. "Wow! I thought you were like, 23." Um, thanks! Apparently I should wear my hair in a ponytail with no makeup more often.

The big deal tonight is that St, a music intern, is playing with a local artist who works with AIT, Benjamin Wa Mambo Jambo, commonly known as Benja. They're playing at Mchuno's tonight after the USA-Ghana game and then there's a beach party for the Finnish holiday of Midsommar, where it stays light for 24 hours straight. After Dinner, H, M and I head over to Mchuno's. On the way, M is the 2nd young chica of the day to ask me my age and be totally shocked by it. This is working well for my ego. Mchuno's is packed tonight for the game as everyone in Africa is pulling for Ghana, the last African team in the World Cup, to win. I am one of about 4 Americans there. There's a competitive spirit in the air tonight which is fun. I see several of my Adult English students there. I say hi to one of them, Joseph, a Masai tribesman. He seems a little confused as to who I am so I remind him that he's in the Adult English class I've been teaching for the last week. "Who's in your class?" he says. "You are!" I say in disbelief. Then someone explains to me that this is Daniel, Joseph's twin, who lives in Zanzibar and is definitely not in my class. Oops! We all get a really good laugh at that one!

I get to meet M's boyfriend. They met a month ago in Bagamoyo at a festival. He's visiting from Malawi and she's from Finland. M said she was single for a couple years in Finland and doesn't understand why she had to meet a man here. I guess you never know how your life might change in a moment. M also tells me she thought I was from the UK because I don't have an American accent. I find out that Finland has a female president and prime minister--very progressive H says. I think it's awesome! M mentions she was surprised that St said many Americans don't like Obama. "It's true," I said. Most everyone seemed to like him prior to his election and voted for him, but now most are dissatisfied that he's gone through with so many of the changes he said he would in his campaigns. Sometimes we Americans can be quite fickle. I still like him and they both echo that adding that Europeans love him. Awesome!

Ghana wins and I'm none too sad since I really don't get into soccer/football. St sings an original song first--really good--great guitar and lyrics. Next is a duet with Benja called "My friend". I like it--will try to get a recording. Then they sing "No Woman, No Cry". Awwwwww-a favorite of mine. I sing alone hoping the whole crowd of around 100 will join in, but they don't. Lame. It reminds me of TT telling me about seeing DMB in London and everyone just sat there and listened. Finally, St sings a song by City and Coulour, a Canadian artist--fantastic lyrics. Will look for it on Itunes when I get home. The show ends around 1 am and the girls walk me back to the hotel then they head to Midsommar at the beach. I head to dreamland.


Advertisement



1st August 2010

Update on Jecaan
Hi Angi, stumbled across your blog when googling Jecaan - I volunteered there last September/October. Have been trying to send them some packages with resources but they are either taking forever to get there or have been lost in the post! I worked with the Baby and Nursery Class, would be great to hear how they are all getting on now! I miss all the cuties, especially Mary and Linda! Is nice to know that they have someone working hard with them now :)
20th August 2010

Jecaan
The nursery class was absolutely adorable. Those kids were precious and I was so blessed just to get the chance to love on them. How nice to hear from someone who has walked in my shoes! Send me a message, I'd love to hear all about your experience. The students were doing well while I was there. Art in Tanzania was in the process of setting up special accounts for donations to these schools. The donations would go directly to AIT to purchase supplies for the local schools so that no money is lost in administration. As I left, my friend took over my teaching position. She has education on alternative methods of discipline she has shared with the teachers--she is a gift to that school!

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0226s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb