Day 2


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » East » Dar es Salaam
July 11th 2010
Published: July 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Another nice flight. I watched Avatar (awesome) and slept a few hours before waking up to a view of the Indian Ocean just before dawn. Seeing the coast of Africa, how God's handprint lined up the land, was incredible. WOW! Arrived at Julius Nyerre International Airport in Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania. It's quite small--like Rockford Airport. No customs to speak of, but guys giving the visas were pretty intimidating--think "Coming to America". Met AM from Finland who is also with Art in Tanzania. She is interning for 9 weeks in Dar and maybe Moshi. Outside the airport many people asked me for money for various causes and tried to sell me a phone or a ride. No one from AIT here yet, kinda freaky. Then 2 men came with a piece of paper with our names on it. We left in a very old Land Rover-no seatbelts!

The drive to Mwabe House, where I'd be stayiing, was really crazy. Peaope everywhere--crossing the street at any point at anytime. Sometimes right in front of cars. Cars weaving in and out of traffic, lots of honking, and multiple cars pulling up to an intersection and turning at the same time. AIT guy, Selestin, said it's ok to take pictures now, but druing rush hour people will reach in your car and grab your camera and/or purse. Everything is dirty--shanties everywhere--people everywhere. Rundown shops. Everywhere you look is like the bad side of town. Very scary, very overwhelming! Not sure at this moment why I came--considering the idea of trying to book a plane home tomorrow but I have no working phone so that could prove to be rather difficult. Just want to get to my room so I can cry. Got to my room--cried. Tried not to cry too much because Selestin is coming back with his phone so I can call Dan to let him know I made it here safely. I called him but got his voicemail. I couldn't help but cry in the message. I know God led me here, but I'm begging Him to give me the strength because I absolutely don't have it. Going to take a nap because I'm exhausted. Maybe 3 hours of sleep on each plane ride is contributing to my emotions. Can't stop staring at our wedding picture.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0244s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb