Dar es Salaam - Tanzania -


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » East » Dar es Salaam
February 20th 2010
Published: February 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Tanzania - Africa


African Adventure Part I

WEEK 1

Well what can I say about my first week in Tanzania, I guess not too much since I haven´t been able to see much, although I went to the beach in the south of Dar es Salaam which was very pretty until I got stick by a Jellyfish ahhhhhhh, It was scary but I survived even though today I can still see the marks in both arms and seems soo strange as if something has hit me with a tiny things. Well that was an adventure.

Insects well I am trying my best to get use it except that I need to keep working on cockroaches, I really need to find a way where I can overcome this fear, which is quiet disturbing. Besides that the area where I live is very quiet and far from town so most of the things around are for wealthy people, so the conditions are pretty good. Surprisingly, I have found out a lot of the products that I get in Denmark, however the prices are extremely cheap comparing to the life conditions of Tanzania.

At work well researching researching, is quiet interesting although I will fully start in action in Week 2, until now I just need to keep finding a lot about state politics in Tanzania.

I have found out that I really need to get some Swahili book for simple conversations since everyone speaks it more than english, so I find it very relevant to get some words so I can talk more with people. The only thing that I know well enough is Jambo - Mambo and Santé = Hello and thanks.

Until now there is not much to tell besides that it is very hot day and night which I don´t complain at all, except when it is too much, oh yeah I am very happy for my working office because I am surrounded of treas so while I am writing I can see and hear the sounds of the wind and the leaves which is relaxing, I also got a lot company from births since they of course love to be over the treas.

Let´s see what week 2 will bring me.

Hugs,


Kathy

Advertisement



14th February 2010

My First 4 Days in Tanzania
Well I cannot complain, the journey has been long but the weather is fabulous I guess around 30 degrees at day and 27 at night. My place is really nice of course insects in everywhere but I hope to get use to them soon. I leave in a nice area and I haven been already to one of Dar´s bazar where you can find everything in everywhere. For those Colombians es como San Victorino igualito o peor jajaja. Well yesterday I went to one of the beaches in the south coast and it was amazing the color and the relaxing view was soo cool; Everything was fine until I got stick by a BRANDMÆND jajajaajj well is in spanish MEDUSA PEQUEÑA jijij, I suddenly felt that something stick me in one arm and then when I turn around it was in the other too and I saw this blue mini BRANDMEND with its long .... in my arm. Ahhhh I was soo scared because it was like 10000000 niles at once and was burning awfully. However after my shocking experience I come down and luckily besides the redness and pain it was not serious, anyway at night I looked like somebody has weeping both arms jajajajj quiet strange. So, today I am fine and went to town and drank my first local Beer which is about half a liter jaajajaj in a local bar that´s what I call LEAVING THE WILD LIFE!!!!!

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb