The routine begins


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » East » Dar es Salaam
October 28th 2008
Published: March 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Opposite my officeOpposite my officeOpposite my office

Dala-dalas queuing up to get to Posta, the main stop in town
Something that was quite strange for me to get used to, was the new daily rhythm. Not traditionally a morning person, I got surprisingly quick adapted to the early start and wake up naturally at sunrise (shortly past 6am). But I found it very hard to get used to the combination of hot weather and short evenings. In my mind hot weather means nice long evenings and not pitch black night before the clock strikes 7 in the evening! This is somewhat limiting, as some areas become a bit dangerous at night and life in general doesn’t quite stop (at least not in the city), but many of the things you would do on a nice (long) summer evening in Europe, aren’t quite practical when it’s dark so bloody early! The area is lively, but apart from strawling round the little dukas (like a corner shop) and buying food for dinner, there isn't much to do. So I find myself a bit trapped in the house.
What frustrated me, is that I spend all hours of daylight either sitting in the back of one of my colleagues cars or in the office! I know, I came out here to work, but being in a tropical climate right at the sea, I was hoping for a bit of time on the beach after work.
Office hours are pretty long, with an 8am start and an official finish at 5pm (but often longer). I try to get out of the office at lunchtime, but the heat is so intense, that it’s not really a pleasant breath of fresh air… Then the traffic seemed to be getting worse and it sometimes takes more than an hour for the 5km distance between the office and the house! I tried walking it and takes an hour too. If it wasn’t that unbearably hot and humid, it would almost be an okay walk… So I was really looking forward to getting my bike!

Been getting on fine with Naomi, it’s very interesting to hear a Kenyan perspective on things (everything Tanzanina, but also on the political situation in Kenya leading up to and after the election unrests).
We’re cooking most nights and I managed to convert her to veggie diet, at least while she’s in the house.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb