Arrival


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » East » Dar es Salaam
October 3rd 2007
Published: October 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I arrived successfully on the 1st of October after leaving for Heathrow early afternoon Sunday. The journey was long and largely uneventful. Changing at Nairobi was more than a little chaotic and after being sent this way and that I hauled all my baggage by hand from the terminal building to the plane itself.

Were located in an area called Bahari Beach approx 30ks from Dar es Salaam. I'm only really just setting in after having an orientation day yesterday. Tomorrow I will visit the school where I will be teaching English in the mornings ready to get to grips with my project.

Internet access is intermittent and slow although we do have access in the main volunteer house. I am currenly based in another house about 20mins walk from this one on roads which give even a 4x4 something to think about.

I will try to update this blog as often as I can. Mostly writing on the computer I brought which should help a great deal with the internet access. Daily life here works at a completely different pace, epecially when you have to walk approx 40minutes for each meal.

I would like to thank all those that helped me get here. I would especially like to thank (in no particular order) Leasemaster, Scrutton Bland, Gipping Construction and Kent and Blaxill for their generous contributions to my project fund.

Advertisement



3rd October 2007

Excellent News
Glad to hear of your safe arrival

Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0212s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb