The Long Awaited Pictures of MY HOME


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » East » Dar es Salaam
September 29th 2007
Published: September 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My Front WalkMy Front WalkMy Front Walk

This leads to my apartment (straight ahead). Usually in the afternoons, I will have my main door open and just the screen door closed. To the left is an open grassy area, where my cleaning lady hangs my laundry. To my right is my neighbor's apartment, with another 2 people on the second floor. 4 Apartments in the building, that's it!
I FINALLY got around to having a little photo shoot with my apartment today. The weather was iffy, I was feeling lazy, and my apartment is nearing completion in the "looking good" category. I just want to still get some pillows made for the couch and some bigs ones for the floor, buy a tv and dvd player, and put some more big pictures on the wall... but this will all come with time. If there is one thing you need in Tanzania, it's patience.
SO, in the photos you will see: the walkway to my apartment, conveniently located on the ground floor of the main parking lot- great for ordering in food and waiting indoors for taxis to show up! My entryway, kitchen, living room, dining/desk area with backyard, hallway with bathroom, closet and bedroom leading off. It's small, but it's all I need! I had everything painted my second week in Dar, and the very next day my shipment arrived from Switzerland! I was very lucky in the timing of everything, and it's nice to come to a real "home" at the end of the day. Enjoy the pics and come see it in real life sometime!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

My Front HallMy Front Hall
My Front Hall

You walk in and look straight into the kitchen, or turn right to look at the living room.
My KitchenMy Kitchen
My Kitchen

It has a fridge, counter space, sink, oven and stovetop, and a little pantry room that my cleaning lady uses to keep supplies and her own things.
The ColorsThe Colors
The Colors

I had the kitchen painted dark brown to match the wood, with a blue ceiling to lighten it up. All of the dishes and dish towels match :)
The Living RoomThe Living Room
The Living Room

With touches from home and Switzerland, it is nice and cozy! Soon to be added: Safari prints blown up and framed, and lots of colorful pillows.
Another ViewAnother View
Another View

Now you can see the door, open as it usually is, and my slowly filling up bookshelves.
More SpaceMore Space
More Space

The little tables will soon be host to the tv and dvd player. On the other side of the wall you can see my desk nook and dining table. There is a little wall separating part of the desk, so it does feel like a different space in the room.
The Dining Nook The Dining Nook
The Dining Nook

Here is my dining table. Behind it you can see the backyard (nice and big- enough so for a small puppy!). The back wall in this nook is all net and bars, there are no actual glass windows on any of this wall. It has a permanent open air breeze and noise. I love it (right now)!
Liquor CabinetLiquor Cabinet
Liquor Cabinet

There is my Liquor Cabinet, with a tribute to the wine country of Italy, and the door leading to my hallway.
My HallMy Hall
My Hall

To the left is a huge walk in closet, which stores holiday decor, shoes, sports equipment, etc. To the right is my bathroom. Straight ahead, the bedroom. Still to come: more on the walls.
The BathroomThe Bathroom
The Bathroom

This is the shower curtain that the school provided upon my arrival. Conveniently, it matches my towels perfectly!
My RoomMy Room
My Room

This is straight ahead when you enter the room. Yes, two double closets!
My Bed!My Bed!
My Bed!

Yes, King Sized bed. I have to put the mosquito net down every night, but it's become a nice little routine. I sleep under the feather duvet at night, so far... but come December this may change drastically.
Another ViewAnother View
Another View

So far, I've not allowed myself to even use the fan at night... trying to build up tolerance for the summer months.
DresserDresser
Dresser

It's cluttered, and I think my cleaning lady has given up on trying to organize it.... oh well!


30th September 2007

Wow!
Awesome postings Alex...you paint a great picture. Sets my heart to longing...
1st October 2007

i want your life!
what an adventure you are on! photos are fantastic and your new home, perfectly gezellig!
2nd October 2007

I love your home...it's much more decorated than mine!! I can't believe you know Gretchen. Once again it goes to show you what a small world we live in. We'll def have to plan trips to visit!
8th February 2010

World Traveler
Great place! You sure know how to get the most out of life. I'll follow your blog for the latest.

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb