hot!


Advertisement
Sudan's flag
Africa » Sudan » North » Khartoum
September 11th 2006
Published: September 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

well, im here....after the longest, most painful plane ride I have had yet. I made it here and all I can say is its bloody hot! My first impressions of Sudan are simple, hot! But its great there are so many people from differnt cultures Ethiopian, Eretrian, Arab, Sudanese, Westerns from all countries. There are so many more Westerners here than I originally thought there would be and in one place in particular you feel like you could be in any counrty around the world. "ozone", its called and its just as expensive as getting food in Western countries. They sell things like pasteries, cousoints (excuse the bad spelling) coffee, etc. Everyone one I have met has been so nice especially when Im not picking up any arabic (note: ive only been in Sudan for 3 days). Last night it rained and it was actually almost cold outside which was such a relief. But things in africa are never too smooth, as we were admirering the storm Rachael (another teacher) went inside to find the whole building flooding! The water came through the door on the roof (which doesnt close properly) and was dripping consistently all the way through the building, into our rooms and down 4 flights of stairs! there was nothing we could do but watch the storm and the buildng flood! The power has stayed on for most of today which is a pretty big thing as everyday I have been here, we have lost power at least once and usually when you want to use the dvd player or are stuck with 4 little children in a very hot room then without the use of an airconditioner or fan.

Today I also became a swimming teacher without any idea what or how to tech swimming with 2-4 year olds. They were ment to have their swimming lesson today, but when we arrived there was no one at the pool. No teacher, no... anyone. So Racheal and I became swimming teachers... It seems very strange to be writting all this down when I read it back to myself i want to laugh because it all seems very surreal. But this is life in Africa and I have onlt been here 3 days!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



14th September 2006

Wahoo
Hi finally we can see your blog, Rhon and I are going in 2 days so now we can catch up. I hope the swimming lesson went well. bye...

Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.035s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1195s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb