a breath of fresh air and (for once) an unremarkable day


Advertisement
Sudan's flag
Africa » Sudan » North » Khartoum
June 27th 2006
Published: June 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, I must say that today has been great actually. I conducted one interview with a woman in a hospital ward in Southern Darfur province to get her story that other people were getting as well, and then we just headed back to Khartoum and got in around late evening here. I found a guy to get a digital camera from, but he was asking for more money than I have left for this trip, in cash nontheless, so I said screw that, I have plenty of film...it'll make for a nice binder full of pictures when I get back and actually have the time to put something like that together.

Other than that, today was totally chill, and we've all just been hanging out ever since. I caught up on some sleep with an evening nap, as I have been totally sleep deprived (running on 3-4 hours a day, with black coffee as a supplement). We go out to the Darfur region as a whole tommorow, and I hope that we can be there for a few days straight, so as to get a wealth of material and finally be done with this so we can all go home after a job well done. I have been getting alot of profane (but still good) messages here from my friends, telling me what a lucky "dude" (clean description) I am for getting this job, and by and large, I'd have to agree. I know that this is something I'll remember forever, even if it is a REAL sore spot with virtually everyone in my fam., who all didnt want me to do this for safeties sake (something not unfounded at all). They are all pissed though, they blew up my email about some trivial stuff but whatever, it was actually good to hear from some people, haha. I wish there was something I could do to earn money here. I get paid and stuff, but I am almost plum out of cash for this trip for my own purposes since we decided to stay longer. I know that I can subsist quite comfortably on what I am allowed for/from work, but there are so many things that I'd still like to buy that I just dont have the cashflow for anymore. I didnt bring my own credit card or anything, just a whole bunch of cash in different places so as to just exchange stuff and minimalize loss if one thing gets stolen, that way I dont have to worry about losing a credit card to the maids like I know I lost my IPOD to while I was gone the other day. Oh well, that is something that is definitely replaceable once I get back stateside.

In an odd way, I almost wish I could stay here longer. We havent been able to go east to places like Port Sudan, but I am still pretty satisfied with all that has been accomplished here I guess. I know that what I have had the privilege (paid privelege, nontheless) to do here is something that not very many people (much less an 18 year old) get the chance to do, and while most of my family still doesnt and still wont approve of this trip and all the experiences therein, I thank God that I have been able to do it anyway, as it has opened my eyes to so much. And while I seem to have developed my own set of issues here, it has been a happy respite from everything going on at home, if nothing else. While I am thankful for all this and sort of wish it'd last longer than these next few days, I will still be glad to be home.

Well, off to the lounge to enjoy a nice game of blackjack with Nigel and Bronskpy!

Until next time,
David

Advertisement



27th June 2006

Hello!
Hello David! It certainly sounds like your experiences there have opened your eyes a whole lot. We just wanted to tell you that reading your blog is the highlight of our day here (minus getting in from rush hour), and that we are all so proud of you for what you have accomplished over there. I know that this is the first of many great things that you'll do with yourself, David. You are certainly a far cry from the blue-haired boy you were many years ago. I know that these things that you are doing are completely in accordance with the wonderful man (i can say that now) that you are becoming. You know that we all didnt want you to go on this trip. We wouldve much rather had you here for the summer, safe in the US, but this is something you wanted to do. You are an 18 year old adult now, and you are independent enough to do these kinds of things should you so choose. THat stilll doesnt ease our worries, but we know that you leave within the next few days, and we eagerly await your return, David. There were some things in the comment box that I saw, but I touched on those in my email to you. I never knew emailing was such a bad thing for some. By the way, I thought I'd be the first to tell you and announce to all viewing that you got a scholarship offer to Darmouth! It is an 80k offer, which would still leave another 80k left over, but it is Ivy League and well worth it. Please consider it David, you know how happy everyone would be for you. Most of all David, despite the fact that our lifestyles may prevent us from having the relationship we probably desire, we all love you David. We are so proud of you for doing your own things, and being your own man now, and we are so proud to call you our son. Have as much fun as possible where you are, and for everyone's sake, stay safe these next few days David. The world doesnt need you to be a hero and save people, it just needs you to come back home, despite how admirable what you did was. Love you, Mommy
27th June 2006

Wow
So thrilling to see such great public family support! How fortunate to have wonderful, loving, and caring folks bolstering your journal. It warms my heart. You must feel blessed now! Wishing the best for you not just on this trip but for future endeavours as well. Blessings to all.

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb