And we're off...


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa
September 4th 2011
Published: September 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It is hard to explain how exciting it is for us to finally be sitting on a plane waiting to take off for Africa!! I have been trying to take down the cheez factor so I don’t look completely ridiculous – but it is hard as I feel like I have a huge surge of excitement and giddiness bubbling up in me! I’m smiling huge at everyone and doing a little jump / skip here and there. Jeff is containing his excitement better as usual – but he is pretty psyched too.

So far things have gone more smoothly than we could have ever hoped for. We had a wonderful last meal of homemade crab cake sandwiches and crab meltaways (thanks Mom!) and a great traffic-less ride to Dulles airport (again thanks Mom and Doug!). Miraculously we kept it to one duffel and one back pack each.And our bags were each under 50 pounds, we got checked in ok, and are on the plane now as I type.

The plane is awesome – who knew a plane could be so exciting?? We were unable to upgrade to first class (with the cost being $9,000 and all) but didn’t mind that too much. Although it did look super cushy up there as we walked by people sipping their wine and lounging – we are perfectly happy in our economy class seats! They are more roomy and comfortable than any plane I have ever been on so this first class to me. There are tv’s in each seat with tons of movies, shows, games, etc. They even gave us little toiletry bags with anything we might need to stay comfortable in the next 17 hours. And the really exciting part - we get free beer and wine! Believe it or not I’m actually excited for the flight! Jeff is already watching his guy flick. He’s very excited to not have to compromise on what movie to watch – I get to watch what I want and he can watch his sci-fi thriller stuff.

We won’t have phone access at all but will have the internet when we get to Jo’burg. So goodbye for now and we will check in next from Africa!
Hakuna Matata



Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb