Preparation for the journey....


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa
August 4th 2009
Published: August 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

"How to Change the World - Social Entrepreneurs and the Power of New Ideas"

....breath.....just 24 days to go

I have been reading this great book about new ideas and how we use our talents to help others. Social entrepreneurs are motivated by "building models
that can be used by excluded and deprived people, to create sustainable livelihoods and promote social inclusion". My research will try to analyze different
social programs and how one can design a space to improve upon the way a program is implemented. Furthermore, through community design charettes perhaps that facility can better address the mutifaceted needs of an organization. The question is what are the tools that one will use to involve people in the building planning process. In the end I hope to have a design process and strategy that will promote the ideals and support the financial/programmatic growth of a non profit organization.

I have been able to make several contacts in Jburg (aka Jozi) and Durban. Lets just hope that they respond when I actually get to the country. I pray that things flow smoothly when I get there, but I will mentally prepare myself for any and everything. I contacted a woman from Legos "Play for Business" who will teach me how to use lego products to do a design charette in south Africa! I am really excited about that. She is willing to donate some tools for my project.

Now I have to think about me....hopefully those immunizations that I took years ago are still good....I hate malaria pills.....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb