A 90's theme bar - you what?


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape
April 22nd 2010
Published: September 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

longer evening ahead of us then planned, we hit Long Street early. First stop, Daddy Cool at hotel Granddaddy’s, and it’s a quick one. We look in and leave. Maybe we were too early or it was cool once, now it just seemed clichéd, all disco ball and velvet, home to a suited crowd who’d just finished work. Undeterred, I venture back up the stair as I’d heard whisper of another place on the roof. I was on to something as the carpet turned to Astroturf and we found ourselves on the roof flanked by Airstream caravans among which were scattered sofas and tables. Again, it was dead but we left making a mental note to check it out on our return to Cape Town.


we can all play at mcdreamy now...
Back on Long Street, we remembered seeing a place calling itself a 90′s bar that had to be worth a laugh right - I mean what’s one of them?

It seems a place with pool tables. Lots of them.

How silly of me, smack of head, the 90′s was synonymous with pool, no? There was a bar in Old Street, its name escapes me but its unisex toilets were the talk of the town. That must be it.

Turns out it was student night so we stayed for the novelty (we so wouldn’t make it past the door in the UK!) and the 8 rand beers. I’m sure the


let the carnage begin!
Manchester Utd vs Bayern Munich game and a bunch of good looking lesbians had nothing to do with the other one’s reluctance to leave. He was probably just happy in his role teaching me how to hit a pool ball and making sure I kept them on the table.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 43; dbt: 0.101s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb