Cable Car to the Table


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
April 28th 2010
Published: September 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Clear skies and a later start than intended but we rocked and rolled off towards Table Mountain before any sulky grey cloud could decide otherwise. Cars lined the vertiginous approach forcing us to park quite far from the entrance, but, having already booked our tickets online we smugly passed the lengthy queue, huddled under the large umbrellas thoughtfully provided. Joining the queue for cable cars I had to navigate a puddle of vomit causing me to gag and wonder just how bad this ride was going to be. An hour later, I was about to get my answer.


Up up and away...

The doors of the rotating, Swiss engineered car slid open and everyone piled in, racing to get o a window. As it started up I felt a lurch in my belly and grabbed the other one’s hand, ironic given that he’s the one with the vertigo. The climb was steep but slow and really not that bad but still I focused on the rock approaching rather than the city diminishing. The sides of the car rotated (or was it us?) either way one minute you were looking out the window, the next out of nothing - literally. One part of the car had no window at all to offer even more enticing views. I was happy with the window…

Less than ten minutes later and we emerged on to Table Mountain and hurrah I needed the loo… Honestly, my bladder. Not a life of intrepid exploring for me…excavating the Pyramids, ‘sorry, old boy before you crack open that tomb, just a moment’ or about to conquer Everest, ‘whoa, hold your horses there, just got to go pee’ (actually not sure if you have ‘special arrangements’ in very cold places?). I lay down the challenge to medical science to find a human adult bladder smaller than mine…

Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0628s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb