Winter


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Stellenbosch
August 26th 2014
Published: August 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So I'm currently in the depths of winter. Its almost the same as a british summer except when it goes cold it really goes cold. Yesterday I had shorts and a t shirt on and suncream and today I'm in long trousers and a water proof.

So the last few weeks have been fairly average. Last weekend I was in George at a friends birthday. Drinks and nibbles on friday night at a house on the Kingswood golf estate, Sat am - pilates followed by golf. Then she hired a mini bus to take us to Oysters R Us in Wilderness for a party!! Friends own the Oyster shack so the drinks were cheap and they are in the middle of nowhere so the music was loud.

I had read in a Home magazine that Simons town and the area around there was really nice and had lovely second hand furniture shops. Well I like to look around shops and see what I don't need or can't have. So one Sunday, with the rain coming down in Stellenbosch we headed off to the coast.

We were greater by beautiful sunshine. We walked the high streets and mooched around the shops before having a drink looking over the harbour. Brave souls were going off cage diving with sharks, we were just enjoying the winter sun and a drink.

We then headed from there to Boulders beach and to see the penguins. We didn't pay to go into the sanctuary as we had walked along the board walk past most of the penguins for free!! We saw couples preening each other and making nests and adolescents trying to shed their baby fluff.

Next was Kalk bay, I love fish and the fishermen had just come back in from their days fishing. All the beautiful coloured boats moored and their catches lined up on the dock. We headed for a restaurant over looking the sea, Harbour House. I had muscles, my favourite and tasted some of the marvellous calamari they had on the menu.

I wanted to by some fish to cook later in the week. So I picked them, R100 for 2 fish, fully filleted, although it did take a while. But while we waited the resident sea lion paid the dock a visit. If you tried to pass you got chased, it was quite the tourist attraction. If you stood in the wrong place and he was give the off cuts of fish you were likely to get covered in guts!!

There is certainly a lot to do in the Fish Hoek and Simons Town area. A lovely place to visit.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



1st September 2014

your blog
Hi Kate, well yet another wonderful blog, and no I'm not being sarcastic. I love these blogs and pictures, can hardly wait for the next one. Well that's enough being nice, I don't do nice as you know. I'm really surprised that you didn't go down in the shark cake, now that would have been a great picture, get it, great picture of you and great white shark!! I might even pay for that photo!! Keep in with the blogs, hear from you soon, love me xx

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0739s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb