Around Town


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Stellenbosch
February 15th 2007
Published: February 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Victoria StreetVictoria StreetVictoria Street

This is one of the main streets in Stellenbosch that goes through the university. It's lined with old oak trees that were planted here a long time ago. It's a really nice walk on a hot afternoon because of the shade!
My meeting with the site supervisor for my volunteer project went really well. I'm working with the HIV/AIDS Center on campus doing things related to educating people about HIV and AIDS and other outreach programs. It's going to be really good. They all seem relaxed and fun. I actually start next week. We have a huge campaign in March that we have to prepare for. It's called March Campaign and the goal is to have 1000 students tested for HIV March 1-16. I'll be working the testing sites by processing the forms and checking people in. The center also does a lot of peer education and counceling so I'll be helping with that when they need me.

I had to change me schedule around some because of a course time change, but it's going to work out in the end. and I shouldn't have any actual written final exams! They are all presentations, papers or for Afrikaans an oral exam that is supposed to be fairly easy. My professor for Afrikaans told us that we should go to a nice restaurant in town before the exam and have two or three drinks because it makes us do much better!
RotaryRotaryRotary

This is a rotary on Victoria... it's going to be the death of me I just know it.
hahaa

Miriam and I went around Stellenbosch to some of the places that we frequent and took pictures like tourists. It was great. We stopped to get some pizza at this little place that Miriam knew about and as we left a little man came up to me. I had my pizza in one hand and my other hand stuck in my pocket to protect my wallet (I do that a lot here) and he insisted on shaking my hand and introducing himself. I ignored him and tried to walk away with Miriam. He wouldn't give up. He followed us for several blocks saying things like "I'm your friend. I won't steal from you. Please, just give me 2 Rand.. my family is starving.. we need food." and so on. He was literally touching me with his shoulder as we were walking and I began to think that he was going to follow us all the way to our apartment. He would have been stopped at the gate to the complex, but that's still a 25 minute walk with a strange man trying to get my money. Well, as we were walking past some restaurants I here my name
Mystic and BohemiaMystic and BohemiaMystic and Bohemia

These are two very popular restaurants/bars in town. It's also where Heather my savior yelled out to me and saved me from the spooky little man who wanted my money.
being called and right away I knew it was Heather! My savior du jour! She was having dinner on the porch area of one of the restaurants with our other friend, Brittany, and their housemate. I turned and walked right up to their table and sat down. I was home free!! I was wrong. The man came over to the railing and kept insisting that I give him money. He didn't walk onto the porch or come up to the table, he just leaned over railing and kept talking. Heather told him to leave and he looked at her and said "but I'm with him," pointing at me. I looked at him and said "I don't know you!" and we turned and ignored him, pretending to have an intensely private conversation. Finally, he left and we were able to walk home. At least he was my friend, right?


So we get home, eat, try to forget about spooky man and decide that we need to go to the grocery store because we're out of food. It takes about 20 minutes to walk to the store so we always go in groups. Four of us went, and as we
Funny AlleyFunny AlleyFunny Alley

This is a weird little street that has a lot of little shops and restaurants. This is where we first met the little man.
were leaving (a little past 8pm), we see him in the parking lot!! Spooky man had walked across town and happened to be in the parking lot as we were leaving. Random! He starts saying something to us, so we go a different direction home to avoid him. I yelled some jibberish sim-style language so he would think that I didn't speak English. I don't know.. it seemed like a good idea at the time.





Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Outdoor MarketOutdoor Market
Outdoor Market

Here is the cool outdoor market where I can buy all the stereotypical African artwork/jewelry/drums etc that I could want. If you're lucky I'll bring you something pretty.
Street that I really likeStreet that I really like
Street that I really like

I like this street because it has so many cool little cafes, bookstores, art galleries and a gelato place. mmmm
Hotel StellenboschHotel Stellenbosch
Hotel Stellenbosch

This is one of the nicer hotels in town. It also has a really nice restaurant that serves things like zebra, ostrich, springbok, wildebeast and other game. sounds interesting.
Random RoadRandom Road
Random Road

I'm not sure where I took this... somewhere in town. You should be able to see the deep ditches on the sides of the road... they fill up whenever it rains. I can't wait for the rainy season!
Palm TreePalm Tree
Palm Tree

I think Miriam and I liked the palm tree and the stormy clouds. I really like having palm and oak trees everywhere!


18th February 2007

Everyone needs a friend!
It's good to know that you are making friends matt! I really like looking at the pictures you've taken, keep 'em coming. Oh, I got your post card!!!! I seriously considered packing up and heading to "SA" cause then I wouldn't have to do my recital (which is TODAY! AAAAAHHHH). Would you like me to send you some hefty bags in case you run in to that spooky man again? Call me, you're awesome! (in a whisper with a funny hand gesture) call me. Wink. -MM
19th February 2007

Funny we're on the same blog site:)

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb