Volunteer Day1


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Stellenbosch
February 13th 2007
Published: February 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tuesdays are going to be one of my busy days of the weeks and although Im exhusted at the moment it is going to be well worth it I think. I woke up early, as usual, went for my run and then went to class for 4 hours and then to 3 hours of volunteering. I am volunteering for a program called Watergarden, and it serves the Klapmuts Township which is about 20 minuets from where I live, although it is still technically under Stellenbosch Municpallity. I had no idea stellenbosch was so big. It is a program that I will volunteer 1 day week for about 3 hours and we will do a various activities from games, homework help, to life chats, to self esteem building (I think). It was very overwhelming as the children speak little english and are very timid to use their english, as I am to use my few afrikaans words. It is not an international student program - but rather through the physcology program at the university but the volunteers are from all sorts of fields. It is nice because I will be able to meet some south african students and share something in common with them. We arrived today and were greeted by many kids, at the end which total over 100 children from about 4 to 15 so a huge age range and less then 20 volunteers. I was paired with the older boys group and we worked on a Walkright (esentially the same as our cheers like "we are the royals the mighty mighty royals..."). I didn't actually what was going on for most of it as it was all in afrikaans but it did allow me to chat with some of the boys who were not as involved and sitting off by themselves. The older boys all speak english but not all that well, however they encourage us to talk to them in it as english as the better their english is the better opportunities are for them. I have a feeling working with little kids might be easier as they mainly play games with them and they like to chase you around and could care less what you say as long as your smiling. Things that stood out to me- young boys and girls act the same no matter what the culture is seems, They were so excited to see us, I couldn't believe 100 children turned out although numbers drop they say as the semester goes on, and how the little ones instantly adore you. When we were leaving I had about 10 little girls all line up to give me hugs- it was pretty amazing, I hadn't even played with them as i was with the older kids. It didn't matter that i didn't speak afrikaans they just wanted to play and be hugged. Finally, there is a desperate need for male role models in the little kids and big kids lives- I would argue especially for the older boys. On Friday I will go to a different Township and do essentially the same thign I belive but they all speak english and/or Xhosa (Kosa) which I also don't understand but i believe their english is much better as I have heard some of the children speak about the basketball program going on. I think this is going to be the most challenging and most memorable part of my adventure- what an awesome oppurtunity to be able to give my time and efforts to such a great cause, and hopefully give as much as I take away from these children. Depsite the terrible conditions these children live in they all seem resiliant and happy- although I'm sure life is not that easy for any of them and as they are just children it takes its toll.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb