Cape Town ...the homeland


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Somerset West
January 16th 2009
Published: April 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The Intercape was fantastic as we got to sleep through the night (from J-Bay). Craig's dad (Trevor) was picking us up at the Somerset West petrol station at 6:00am. Unfortuantly for him we arrived 3 hours late and we had no signal until we entered Cape Town. It was really exciting as Craig was seeing his house in Penhill for the first time and I was meeting the family. After unpacking and introductions we went to the local Shabine....time to chill out and open a cold beverage. We tried to surf as much as possible but the waves were not that great mostly non existant. We had hired a car (vomit comitt)and we really got our monies worth by spending (sometimes) 2.5 hours driving around looking for waves. My parents arrived on the 22nd Dec so I was very excited. We had beautiful weather in CT until my folks arrived. It was grey and pouring with rain (it took 2 days to clear). They we staying in Somerset West up in the mountain and they had the most beautiful view of Gordens Bay (really stunning sunsets). Cape Town was about spending lots of time with the families, surfing as much as possible and eating seafood. The best calamari I have ever tasted is from the Chapmans Peak Hotel. We headed up to Vic Bay for a week with Craig's family. We had good waves almost every day. I was a little scared as Craig thought it was a good idea that we jump off a tidal pool at high tide into the sea (app. the quickest way to get out to the backline). So Craig jumped (not waiting for me) and at this point a big wave rolled in and knocked me off the wall into the rocks where I got sea urchins stuck in my foot. Eventually I got out to the backline but it was definatley not gracefully (one massive belly flop on the surf board). What can we say about the South African food.....but AMAZING!!! he braai's e had very night at the Mansell's and Craigs mom's pate (I am sure Chrisse agrees with me).


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb