OUDTSHOORN – DONT JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Oudtshoorn
September 26th 2012
Published: September 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Before I went to Oudtshoorn for the first time, I always thought that it was just some small town that you just pass on your way to Cape Town, with nothing to offer but dry, hot weather and dirt roads. But after that I truly understood the phrase “don’t judge a book by its cover”. This small town is known as the ostrich capital of the world and is becoming quite a major tourist attraction over the years. I had the privilege of staying there for a whole week, at first I thought that I’d be bored out of my mind, but I wasn’t! The small town kept me well occupied. I’ve always been curious about the Cango Caves, and have always wanted to visit the attraction and learn more about it, so the Cango caves was the first attraction I visited! When on a visit to the Cango Caves, you can go on one of two tours, the standard tour and the adventure tour. I was advised to take this opportunity and go on the adventure tour, and so I did! And it was awesome! The adventure tour requires you to climb up and squeeze through a number of tunnels, making you feel as if you’re in some kind of movie where you are looking for a way out which your life now depends on! I also decided to visit the Cango Wildlife Ranch which is just outside of Oudtshoorn. There I got the chance to touch a baby cheetah as well as see a number of other wild animals such as crocodiles, snakes, wild dogs and hippo’s. They also offered an activity where visitors can cage dive with crocodiles, but I love my life too much for that one! Like I mentioned in the beginning, Oudtshoorn is known for its Ostriches, so I knew that a trip to Oudtshoorn without seeing one would be a total waste! So next, I was off to the Ostrich Farms. This attraction has so much to offer! From walking on ostrich eggs, riding on a ostrich to a variety of outdoor activities such as hiking, caving, abseiling, quad biking, camel riding and so much more! My first experience there was too great to not go back, that’s why I’ve been there almost every year since!



Photo: Cango Caves:

http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=cango+caves&view=detail&id=8F8F965723567F6BF3A3C5ADD7C6F919FD00F614&FORM=IDFRIR

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb