Mossel Bay, Western Cape


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Mossel Bay
January 30th 2013
Published: January 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

This little town is quite a nice little stop over but to be honest I stayed for a month doing a great white internship and did little site seeing but I did like the time I spent there all the same.

From what I saw this is a lovely little town, lovely shops, places to eat and of course the drinking venues..

For food I would highly recomment Kaai square.. or Kaai2 (sorry can't remember the exact spelling) but its located right next to the marina, right on the ocean front. Best. Food. Ever.... its all home made BBQ meals...and the owner is a character all in himself and sits and gives you great life advice.

Unfortunately (or fortuneatly) the only venue I really went out to drink was a place called Flames (its on one of the main streets). This place is highly loveable, really really cheap drinks, its small and smokey yet has a great atmosphere with pool tables and jukebox. The other patrons can be somewhat.... entertaining.. ha.

I also went to the local club called Stones? which is a predominite black club, and everyone warned us going but it seemed fine.. although we did go in with locals and I was maybe a bit too entoxicated. But then after we left the locals wouldn't let us walk home and made us sit at the police station until the one taxi in Mossel Bay came and picked us up..

Oh!! There is a shuttle (its a kind of a bigish car) that does free pick ups to 3 venues as they are all the same owner.. I think one might be Havanas, and Kaai 2. But its highly recommended as taxis are far and few between.

I didn't stay in a back packers but from my travels I heard Mossel Bay Backpackers was really good and very centrally located.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb