The End of the Safari


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
October 29th 2006
Published: October 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After the adrenaline rush of Swakopmund (Namibia), we had a week to reach Cape Town, our final destination and a lot of mileage and partying to fit in!

On en-route highlight was visiting the famous Namibian sand dunes in Sussusvlei, near Sesrium. It was so hot - around 39 deg - it didn't take me long to conclude that I really couldn't hack desert life! However, in case of emergencies, I do know that in order to survive if stranded in the desert, you should eat lizards and animals' eye balls! Hmmm, I'm sure that'll come in handy?!

After the temperature had cooled a little, we climbed the famous 'Dune 45' to watch the sunset. The view was outstanding, like nothing I'd ever seen before. Namibia is probably my favourite country of the trip in regards to the scenery.

We travelled through the remainder of Namibia via Luteritz and the Fish River Canyon before crossing the border over the Orange River into our final country, South Africa. Much of the time off the truck was spent cooling off in the various rivers and lakes as midday temperatures soared to nearly 40 degrees, the hottest we've experienced in Africa by far. As we headed south and our destination approached, temperatures cooled and on 15th October we finally reached a very windy Cape Town.

I can't believe how quickly the trip's gone. For almost three months I've been living in the pockets of the same people and it's going to be so sad to say goodbye. It's strange too. I've had a nervous feeling rolling around in my tummy, just like the nerves I had at the start of the trip in Nairobi. It's suddenly dawned on me - no more truck routine and we're going to have to actually think for ourselves in order to plan activities and actually eat - how will we cope?!

I've got 8 nights in Cape Town in order to see the sights and say goodbye to everyone. I'll be the last one left on Saturday until I leave for Swaziland on Monday - that makes me the official "Big Brother Love Truck Winner", doesn't it?!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.069s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb