Adventurneering in Namibia...


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Etosha National Park
October 11th 2006
Published: October 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Namibia on the 29th September. Having driven through an endless expanse of dry, desert-like savannah, we arrived at Etosha National Park for more wildlife viewing than you can shake a stick at! The park's name meaning 'Great White Place of Dry Water' is an incredibly apt way of describing the endless expanses of greenish-white land. We went on many game drives and saw so many animals including lions and elephants, my favourites. We witnessed a herd of about 40 ellies rollicking in a waterhole having a wail of a time, with water, mud and dust flying all over the place. The babies were so cute and absolutely hilarious. I want to keep one! While all this was going on, zebras, giraffes, and a bunch of warthogs were standing by witnessing the events unfolding before them. Took some great photos which I'll have to show you at some point.

The best thing about Etosha had to be the floodlit waterholes though. As opposed to spending days scanning the plains for any sign of life, we just pulled up a pew with a beer and our cameras and waited for the animals to come to us. And they did! We saw lions, giraffes, springbox, rhinos and many more from just a few metres away. Wonderful!

After leaving Etosha, we travelled across Namibia to Kamajab, stopping on the way to experience what must be Africa's best bakery and for me to bargain for a pair of genuine(?!) Lacoste sunnies (Hmmm, just over 1 quid, maybe not!). We arrived at a cheetah farm, we got up close and personal with three tame cheetahs, stoking and playing with them, which was very nerve-wracking for some after the lion attack! We also went out on the back of a open truck to feed a group of rescued cheetahs. The goat heads and sheep intestines looked far from appetising!

Next on our itinerary was a visit to a village belonging to the Himba tribe. As there is very little water in the area, instead of washing, the Himba people cover themselves in a ochre mud paste, which dries leaving their skin a reddish-brown colour. The women seemed to take a particular pride in their appearance; their hair was intricately plaited and they decorated their bodies with jewellery. The men could have many wives but the women could visit any man in the village any time she wanted. Their values and daily routines seemed so alien to our own, at times it was difficult to comprehend. I also couldn't help but think that the experience was all a bit too commercial. The people seemed quite naive and unaware about what was going on. I felt it had an almost zoo-like feel.

I am currently sitting in an Internet cafe in Swakopmund, which is obviously where I'm writing this from. we've spent four days here near Angelina and Brad's hideout. For me, an adrenaline junkie, this little paradise on the sea was the place to get my fix. It's like Vic Falls, but with sand instead of water.

Activity 1: Sand boarding
A mad sport clearly evolved from snowboarding - basically the same but with sand, not snow. I learnt the basics and made my way down the dunes, without much finesse but by the end I managed a jump (and stacked it!). I also sledged the dunes and hold the group's record for the fastest speed - 80km/h. I also had one of the fastest and most spectacular wipe-outs going 79km/h - luckily the sand provides a soft landing!

Activity 2: Quad biking
A stomach lurching tour of the dunes, covering about 60km in 2 hours at what felt like a zillion miles an hour but which was realistically around 60km/h. I managed to catch some really 'big air' when taking the bike over jumps at full throttle - awesome!

Activity 3: Skydiving
The ultimate adrenaline rush! After a 25 minute scenic flight with a stunning dune and ocean backdrop (which a clearly didn't appreciate at the time), I jumped out of a plane at 10,000ft, freefalling for 30 seconds (5000ft) at 220km/h! The best experience of my life! I'll have to show you the DVD of me sh*tting myself - it's very amusing.

I'm sure Dad's worried silly about me doing all these things but he really does only have himself to blame - he was the one who introduced me to skiing, quad biking, and white-water rafting. Bet he's kicking himself now! So Dad, fancy a tandem skydive when I get back?...

Ok, so only a week left of the tour and I can't believe how much time's flown by. Am making the most of every moment left before we hit Cape Town on the 15th.


Advertisement



12th October 2006

Comments
I add comments but I never see them added. Love Lilian
13th October 2006

Half term looming
Hey chick - good to see you are not letting the side down and still spotting animals and doing crazy things - how are you ever going to settle anywhere after this trip?? One more week of school then it is half term - can't wait - quite an interesting bunch my kids - really enjoying them though - they wee in sinks and bite! All adds to the fun! Take care - Love Carly x
24th October 2006

Hi Claire
Just come back from the Isle of Wight. Had a fantastic time and bundles of laughs sharing with Marion. Lots of chats about our age and stuff. Sounds like you're still having great fun. Wish I was there! I must visit Africa. You have inspired me !LesleyXXX

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb