Bo-Kaap: The "Rainbow Nation" Of The Mother City


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
October 21st 2012
Published: October 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

No matter how young or old, the colour of your skin or whatever your background may be, the one thing that everybody likes about Bo-Kaap is the bright colours that the houses are paint. I think the first thing that everyone thinks when you hear the name Bo-Kaap are those houses, its what makes Bo-Kaap, Bo-Kaap.

But there's more to Bo-Kaap then that. Visiting the area, walking around you get the feeling of Ubuntu- standing together, supporting each other, helping thy neighbour. Every person that walks past me, makes eye contact, smiles and greet me in a polite way, some even asked how I was doing. Little children are playing in the street, while the aroma of spicy gourmets come from the inside of the houses causing me to use every little willpower that I have not to go and invite myself over for supper.

Bo-Kaap has truly come along way since the days of slavery, today its a place called home for many, a tourist attraction because of the musuems, restaurants, and a place of prayer for most of the residents, but for me it is still the place with the rainbow coloured homes and extremely friendly people who make good smelling food, haha.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0877s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb