Cape town stuff


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
March 25th 2010
Published: March 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

March 17
So today I headed down to muizenberg beach to get a board and suit sorted. The train/metro was decent it stopped  twice for no reason for about 10 mins but we made it there fine. I checked out a few shops and found garys surf school. 
The shops gave a good deal buy back at at least 50-69% so I ended up buying a used board and wetsuit but new fins leash and board bag for 1700 Rand about 230 usd not bad at all and he said he'd but it back for about 1000 so I'd only take 100 buck hit for a board for 2 weeks sweet. I decided to go test the suit n board out. The surf was absolut crap, washing machine, but it was nice to get in the water and I snagged a couple I could wack a few turns on. After my little session I grabbed some lunch at the grocery store then headed back to cape town to meet Emma to climb lions head to see the sun set and city at night. The train back was pretty cool there was a blind girl singing and another woman preaching something in africance. It was a neat experience. Oh I was also the only white person on the train. 
Well Nicky decided to tag along for the hike. We started te hike around 6:15 and got to the top just in time for the sun set which was spectacular. The sun setting over the ocean and it's pinkish glow was all around as well as the mountains reflecting the last bits of light was truely georgous.  We stayed up there for a bit taking it all in before we had to hike back down in the suns glow. We did bring headlamps that we needed towards the end when it was quite dark n rocky. There was a fun part with chains we had to climb down. Nicky was quite scared but she managed fine. 
We decided to walk down from the trail towards town and then hail a taxi to long street.
I picked a restaurnt we spotted the night before and it turned out to be an indian Persian restaurant, complete with belly dancig show and floor seating.  It was pretty fun the woman coinvinced Nicky to get up and dance with her. She was quite amusing. Dinner was pretty good it was nice to have a change in flovor from African dishes. Emma was super tired from a fully day hike so we all headed to bed shortly after dinner.

March 18
So today I had intesnions of getting to Llandudno beach but that didn't quite happen. When I check the net quickly I noticed no one responded to my emails and then I noticed my emails didn't go through so I spent an hour or so rewritig a few emails. Then I realized I had to pack up and move my stuff out of the the dorm room and in doing so I decided to try and ship some stuff home. So I went to the post office but they don't give out boxes there so I had to walk long street and go into restaurant and ask around for boxes then buy some tape it was quite a ridiclous run around. I finally got everything together and packed I mailed Maydeena something then sent a 5 kilo pack home. Little expensive but better than lugging it around here for the next few weeks and chance going over weight for the flight home. Anyay by this time it was geting to late to try and go to llandudno by bus so I hit Emma up and meet her at her hostel we hopped a taxi to Clifton beach. I brought my board just incase but no such luck. We ended up just sitting and chilling on the beach. Em was soaking up her last bits of sun I caught up on here and went for a quick dip. The water was probably low 60s cold but not terrible. Suzi Nicky and Simon stopped by to say goodbye while they were there they felt the water and I threw Em in as she was kicking and screaming. Haha Then Em and I went to have lunch at the country club right next store to the beach, since it was a very resadentiall beach we didn't have any other options. But we had a decent meal then back to the beach for a bit. I ran down to the other end of the cove to see of there was any surf, a few guys were out but it was knee to waist high shorey.  The run was intrestig though because one of the beaches (they were separated by rocks) was a gay beach, a first experience for me, then there was a model photo shot on another and a commerical shot on the last one. It was crazy.
We eventually caught a taxi back to her hostel, em still covered in sand she was grabbed her bags and headed directly to the airport. We said our goodbyes and I headed back to the hostel to wait for shell and Kathy to pick me up. Emm was a really cool girl she suprised me how tough she was. 
Kathy and shell rolled through around 6ish and we drove in her sisters land rover to kathys parents house. We stopped for dinner around the corner at a all you can eat gourmet pizza place. Needless to say I was in hevan much cheaper than the past few nights dinner and I could eat all I wantted. We sat there chatting to kathys parents and friends. 
We went back to her parents house after dinner where they were so warm and welcoming to us. Their house is georgous they have a beautiful backyard complete with and avacado tree. It was a really cool neat little place with an intresting layout.  Shell and I were pretty tired so we nicked off to bed early. 

March 19
We had intensions of leaving ealry but had faffed around abit, which was ok because I didn't think there would be surf. We finaly got on the road and stopped at Langebaan for a pit stop n look around. 
We made it to elands and of course it was flat. Plan surf trip but not the waves. We stopped and had a cup of coffee at a small shop n asked about the surf n spots he pointed out the left hander off the rocks but no swell was running. We are now headed up to lamberts bay to check the surf.  Unfortunately there wasn't anything going on up their either plus the town itself was a bit dirtier and smelly, so we decided to head back to Elands for the night. We checked in the campsite and decided to get a site rather than just park in the parking lot even though we were sleeping in he car. 
We then decided to go out for dinner we went back to left break restaurant where we all ordered crayfish. This was shells first time and she really enjoyed it. I thought it was a bit dry and overcooked but not bad. After dinner we went back to the camp site hung out by the fire and had some coffee and desert then nicked off to bed. Kathy slept outside shell and I slept in the van. 

March 20
Today we slept in again and had a slowish start we had a small breaky at camp then hit the road. We drove through a few small beach towns along the way tryig to spot surf and do some sight seeing. We eventually stopped in to get some fish n chips take away, which we ate on the beach and chatted about the tour. From there we went back to Darling, the town were kaths parents live she drove us around town abit and then stopped at a local artist house who actually lives in an old church. It was beautiful/really cool in side he had some amazing art work and the layout of the place was so neat. We chatted to Andrew for a bit what a character, classic guy. 
Then we went and picked up some meats n food for our braii(BBQ) tonight. We managed to make a soild meal for dinner with kaths parrents and friend Mario. It was a good time, after which we watched a movie and passed out. 

March 21
Today we headed for stellinbosh and koolbay. But after shell and I both had a quick check out by kaths dad the chiropractic. He told me my back is not that good my lower back isn't curved enough and I need to do exercises to strenghten it as well as lie on my stomach more, which is intrestig because I always thought that was bad. Anyway we got on the road and drove through stellinbosh a very cool/cute little college town. It was chock full of cafes and restaurnats. It was very quaint. Kathy showed us where she used to live and where she went school. 
We then stopped in strand for lunch at nandos. Ahh  then continued on to koolbay where I did get in a little surf. The waves were pretty much closing out on shore and not that big but Kathy had driven all around to try and find me surf so I went out for a little session. 
Afterwards we went back to strand to see kaths xboyfriend play at some bar on th beach. It was a cool little spot with a beautiful view. Shell and I had a great time and some intresting convos. From there we went to kaths sisters xhusbands house to pick up her nefew who we took back to kaths sisters house and then to our hostel to have dinner, which shell and I payed for.  After dinner we said our sad goodbyes to Kathy then ended the night chatting over some hot chocolate. 

March 22
Today we had a 5:30 wake upto go on our great white shark dive. We were told 5:45 but apparently it was supposed to he 5:15 so we were a bit late. Anyway 2 hours later we arrived they gave us a solid breaky then we got briefed about the sharks and the tour. Then we headed down to the harbor. On the way shell and I spotted a place you could rent a digital camera so we popped in real quick and picked one up. We boarded the boat and made our way to dyer island just past shark alley. With in minutes we had a shark at the boat it was amazing. He wasn't huge but a good size. They bait handlers are meant to entice the shark but not let it eat the bait because if it eats the bait the sharks then accociate humans and boats to food. But this first shark must have caught the guy of guard becaue it did grab the tuna head. I think the shark swam with it till the line got taught then let it go. Which apparenlty scars the shark off. We had to chum the water for another 20 mins or so before we got another one. Wow what beautiful magnificant creature. They are so smooth, fluid and powerful. It was amazing to see them gracefuly swim by. We all got suited up in wetsuits then waited our turn to get on the cage. Shell and I decided to go in seperately so we have more opportunity to take photos. I went in first and got right in the corner by where the bait guy was luring the sharks to and where the chum guy was. He yelled down front so we would dunk underwater and look forward as he drew the bait new you could see this massheaded straight towards us. Then a few meters away you could see the great white face to face in all of it's raw power and beauty. It was unbeleiveable, a truely amazing experience. I could have stuck my hand out the cage and touched him. Man it was awesome.  A couple of times I got to see the shark mouth wide headed straight forthe bait/us as the "handler" dragged it away. Ahh it was so cool. Definately a highlight. I cannt really describe it. It felt like I was watching shark week on tv but seeing and feeling it live. 
  The "handlers" gave each group a number of passes before we would swap. We had enough time for the opportunity to do 2 dives which was awesome. Each time I was the first one in the cage and last one out. After everyone finished their dives we pulled anchor and drove through shark alley and got to see all the seals playing about. Shell was estatic, seals being her favorite animal she was just as excited to see them as to see the sharks. When we got back to shore we quickly popped in the dive shop and dropped the camera off so the woman could put the photos on a disk. We then went back to the great white house to watch the DVD the guys had made. It was decent but way to much money. Hopefully our photos and video clips will come out ok. 
We then took a long drive back to cape town. Where shell and I did some errands for her before we grabbed dinner at this cool bar/restaurant overlooking new church street. I wanted to take a picnic up to lions head but we were pressed on time and it would have been to dificult to organize everything. Anway dinner was quick and good we then grabbed a bottle of wine and headed up. We caught a taxi to the base of the walk. This time we did the chains on the way up which was quite fun and of course shell was keen as and enjoyed it. We got to top just in time to see the sunset unfortunately it was tainted by a large cloud cover over the horizon but it did lead way to lighting those clouds on fire with reds and orange colors. It was stunning. We hopped over to a rock protruding so we were right on the edge all alone. By this time most people had left anyway.  We took some photos and cracked the wine. It was a memorial experience. Unfortunately shell said the wine wasn't very good. I had a few sips but wouldn't know good from bad. Haha.  We spent some time up there taking it all in enjoying the view and each others company befoe we had to head down to meet her ride/host. We hiked down in almost complete darkness aside from my headlamp I gave shell and the bit of city and moon glow.  When we got to the bottom joycelyn was there waiting for us. She took us back to the backpackers where shell picked up her bag and we said a quick goodbye in hopes to cross paths at jbay or at the very least the blukorins bungy jump. Shell is a great girl, she is so cool, down to earth, thoughtful and adventours.  
I went back in washed my shirt n socks took a shower and nicked off to bed. 

March 23
I slept in and had a lazy morning using the internet ans repacking. I walked around the corner to grab some food ans a coffee. I also hit 711 for some lunch snacks. 
The backpackers was booked for when I get back so I had to go next store to zebra crossing to see if they had a bed which they did and it was even cheaper 100 Rand. Sweet. She let me leave my bag there and even called the backpack bus for me to get to the airport. I was in a bit of a rush and wound up leaving my snacks in the fridge maybe they will be there when I get back. Well the shuttle cost 160but 20extra for a surfboard such crap n expenssive. Apparenlty there's no public transit to the airport so it's a 25+ taxi or shuttle ride pretty annoying.  I got to the airport and checked in fine no extra cost for boards or atleast I didn't have to pay.  The flight was smooth and quick about an hour 15. Where I was greeted by a woman taxi driver that took me the hour long drvie to jbay. With all the taxis and what not I should have just gotten the bus. Oh well. 
The hostel is called surfpackers I guess a partner of nomad. I briefly meet Etienne the surf guide. He had to take the other surfer to the airport. 
I walked up to check the surf. There's a little wave out there but it was abit windy n choppy. Etienne said he'll sort me out in the am. So I went and did some grocery shopping then came back cooked some dinner and hung out with the 4 other people at the hostel. We watch ong bac 2 off my iPod n it was a confusing/terrible movie. Anyway afterwards I used the net a bit and the nicked off to bed. 

March 24
Today I met Etienne he sorted me out for breaky and we had a quick talk about the surf for the week. He said that I should score some waves this weekend. I told him I didn't want to do the game drive but I wantted to go to the stormsriver bungy jump. He said he would sort that out for me. He then took me around town briefly there are tons of surf shops here it's mad. He brought me back to the hostel and said he'd come back around 2 when the wind was meant to switch and we would go find some surf. Sweet. So I hung out with Estephan, Emanual and Carmin for a bit.  Then I went for a walk on the beach checking out the surf n what not. Then I did some laundry and ate lunch. Etinne finally came around to pick me up we then went cross town to pick up 8 or so groms to come with. He said he provides board and suits for them and time in the water with him to keep them off he street and out of trouble. I mentioned to him that the others were going to cape St Francis to have a surf. He blassie said that wouldn't be working. So he took all of us to the main beach break and it was absolute crap then we went to the point litterally around the corner from the hostel and we had a surf there. It was small, mushy and powerless. I snagged a couple of decent ones. We surfed for a couple of hours before he took me back to the hostel. Where I made some eggs and reheated my chicken and pasta and watched a movie. The other group came back and they said they surfed seal beach and it was cranking little barrells and all. I'm spewing right now I'm paying alot of money for him to take me where it's working and where there aren't any people and he takes me to a place I could have walked to and brought 8 more people. I'm seriously gonna complain tomorrow if it's the same deal. I'm verry upset. 
I spent the night hangin out with the trio eating some of their braii chatting and watching movies. 

Advertisement



Tot: 0.301s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0608s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb