Being Tourist


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
February 26th 2006
Published: February 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Tourists!The Tourists!The Tourists!

Here we are armed with our cameras!
So it's Sunday morning here -we just went to church (ok we only stayed for about 20 minutes) and had lunch. And since Friday night we've basically been tourist. Here's a recap:

Friday we headed out to Long Street (it was Nichole, myself, and Sharon aka Dead Weight). Long Street is kinda Sunsetish in the sense that its this one street with all these clubs and you walk up and down. It was a lot fo fun. We ended up at this place called Jo'Burg where they played stuff we used to listen to from like 6th to 9th grade (93-97). So all the dancing you wanted to do when you were too young to club we did!! People here are funny...and the lines are hilarious. Here are some: "You are my size." "I'll take you to the candy shop." "I've never danced with a chinese girl before." People are also persistent...lol. The clubs stay open pretty late -which is cool. We didn't head out till almost 1:00 AM on Friday and the clubs didn't call until 4:00/5:00 AM.

After waking up late on Saturday we ended up going shopping. We wanted to get up earlier, but that didn't
Top of Table MountainTop of Table MountainTop of Table Mountain

Here is the view from the cable car dock area (about midway from the bottom) of the top! Looks far from here.
happen. Our first stop was Garden Center -a bootleg sort of mall. We then went to the top of Table Mountain via a cable car. It was very beautiiful. After, we went to this other mall called Canal Walk 0it was huge and very American in a way -there were American shops. Also, everything stayed open late which is different because most places close early on Saturdays. Saturday afternoon and Sundays are usually family days and days of rest -which is cool, but at the same time soooo quiet. You may be wondering if we went out Saturday night, and we tried -but we didn't. We fell asleep. it's like the week was catchig up with us.

Sunday we woke up and after getting over the disappointment of not going out, we went to church like I mentioned earlier. Then Xolani took us (Nichole, me, Sharon, and Gemma). We went to the beach, then the peguin beach (Simon Town), and went to watch the Sunset at a place called Chapman's Peak.

It's been a fun two days -but I want to stay longer!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Scared Faces!Scared Faces!
Scared Faces!

Here our scared faces as we zoom towards the mountain in our cable car that rotates 360 degrees.
View from TopView from Top
View from Top

Here's what it looks like from the top of Table Mountain.
Who am I?Who am I?
Who am I?

If you know me, then you know that I am.....doing my...Little Mermaid pose! "Wish I could be...part of your woooorrlllldd..."
Just Beach...Just Beach...
Just Beach...

Another beatiful view.
At the Beach...At the Beach...
At the Beach...

So I didn't get the beach day I wanted so this is a pretend "I spent the day getting bronzed out" shot. As you can see though, I am not very bronze.
Posing with the Penguins!Posing with the Penguins!
Posing with the Penguins!

Nichole and I with the penguins. Aren't they cute??
More PenguinsMore Penguins
More Penguins

Who knew we'd find penguins in South Africa?
View from Chapman's PeakView from Chapman's Peak
View from Chapman's Peak

Yet another gorgeous view. Can you believe how gorgeous it is?
Thinking Thinking
Thinking

Here I am looking into the sunset and contemplating one of life's biggest dilemma's -what do I want to eat? Props out to Nichole for taking this picture!


27th February 2006

What did you have to eat!!!!!! Was it nice!!!

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb