Falling Down Mountains


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
May 12th 2009
Published: May 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Table MountainTable MountainTable Mountain

Welcome to the Top!!
The past week and a few days have been wonderful. It has been full of fun activities and I’ve been getting things done that I wanted to do before I leave. I started off on Sunday with a beautiful day. I woke up and the sun was out. While I was trying to figure out what to do with the beautiful day, Rebecca came into my room and asked me if I wanted to hike Table Mountain. I took advantage of that invitation, and Katie, Rebecca and I headed to the mountain. Since it was a beautiful day, there were a ton of people there, and we headed up the Platteklip Gorge path from the Cable Car Station. The whole way up it was hot and a challenge and we were pushing, because I had to be back at home, showered and ready to go at 5 that afternoon.

About two hours after we began we finally reached the top. It was a beautiful view, and all worth the sweat and burning legs. We were so high up that we were above the clouds, and we could see almost all of Cape Town. Once again, there were a million people
Victory is oursVictory is oursVictory is ours

A celebratory picture at the top. There were lots of people around to take them for us.
up there because it was such a nice day, but that’s ok. We stopped and Rebecca and Katie got something to eat, and after a while we had to head back down so that I could get home in time. As a result we quickly headed back down the mountain. When we started down we saw some people who we had seen when we got to the top, and they were surprised that we were heading down already. On the way down we were going somewhat quickly, because we needed to make good time. Platteklip Gorge consists of a large amount of large and awkward makeshift stairs made of large rocks that are at a decent incline. Whenever I am going down stairs, I like to go kind of fast, because whenever I am tired it is easier for my knees and things to go kind of quickly. Well, on the way down I overcompensated on a step, and definitely fell down the mountain. I didn’t fall too far, and I twisted and caught myself, so it was a slightly graceful fall. After that, Rebecca started a point system for me to keep track of my falls. By the time
Me and KatieMe and KatieMe and Katie

Stoked that we made it to the top!
we reached the bottom, we I had accumulated 3.5 steps. When we approached the last leg of the hike down, we met Ryan and Ben who were on their way up. They were headed up to watch the sunset, and invited me to come with, but I had to be home.

We got home at 4:40, and Rachel was coming to pick me up at 5:00, so I quick hopped in the shower. Thankfully I’m a decently low maintenance person, and so I got ready in those 20 minutes with no problem. When Rachel got here, I was basically ready to go. Rachel was coming to get me, because I was going to her house to have supper with her family and then go to church. It was wonderful, because it was a home cooked meal, her parents are great, I love Rachel, and I really enjoy her church.

Monday, May 4 I had class, and then I had to meet Sister Marion Grady. She is a nurse at Baphumelele Respite Center. It is a center in the Khyelitsha Township, and it is a short stay center for people who suffer from HIV/AIDS. It is an NGO, and
Funny FaceFunny FaceFunny Face

What good is a picture without a funny face one to compliment it.
I am working with some other IES people on a research project for them. Tuesday, May 5 was nothing real special. After classes, I had only one more thing to do. That evening I went with many of my friends and housemates to the UCT Symphonic Band concert. One of my friends plays in the band, so we went to see her. I then had to go home to study, because I had a test the next day. Wednesday and Thursday I just had class and did some homework, but I suppose that’s what I’m here for. To study.

Friday, May 8 I went to class and then did some homework. That afternoon I joined Jo, Ryan, Rebecca and Lull on a hike up Lion’s Head. There was a full moon that night, so Lion’s Head is popular to hike at sundown and then hike down by moonlight. We went as the sun started to go down and quickly made it up the mountain. At the top we watched the sun set, and then hung out at the top and enjoyed watching the city slowly light up. After some chilling, we headed down the mountain again. Lion’s Head is
Hiking BuddiesHiking BuddiesHiking Buddies

Katie and Rebecca. Katie kept us moving at a realistic speed, because Rebecca tried to run.
a pretty easy climb, and we made it down the hardest parts with no problems. There is one area where we have to climb down using chains and footholds and that was no problem. About halfway down, it is just a path with a slight incline, and it is on that path that I ran into issues. At one point, I caught my toe between two rocks, and I face planted pretty hard. I then hit my leg on a couple of rocks, and there was a little bit of blood and some soreness. It was pretty crazy, and Rebecca added 3 more points to my falling point system. In one week I managed to fall down two mountains. Now that is talent. Even though I fell down them both, I have now climbed all of the major attractive hiking mountains in Cape Town. That is one thing that I have marked off the list.

That evening, I promised Susy I would go out, so I showered and got ready. Susy did her usual thing where she doesn’t hold plans, so after a long time, I just headed over to Alma to hang out. While we were there, Susy
Looking ImportantLooking ImportantLooking Important

This is my explorer's pose. Don't I look important??
and I decided that we were going to bake scones, so she looked up a recipe online, and I went to work. She was going to help me, but she got distracted and ended up being on Skype the rest of the evening. Even though I didn’t have a clue what I was doing, the scones turned out pretty well. After some time I then headed home and went to bed.

The evening of Saturday, May 9 I went to a Rugby game. The game was the Cape Town Stormers vs. the Australian Western Force team. I went with some of my housemates with a guy who brings people to Rugby Games and other things around the Cape Town area. He brought us to tailgate, and then we went to the game. It was the last game of the season, and it got kind of crazy because they ended up winning by one point. Katie, Rebecca and I had a lot of fun watching the game while other people got drunk. That evening I just headed home and went to bed.

Sunday May 10 was Mother’s Day. For Mother’s Day I went to church at Upper Room Retreat
Above the CloudsAbove the CloudsAbove the Clouds

It may not look like it, but this is the top. The what that you see looking like the ground is actually the clouds.
in order to see my home stay mom. I then spent the whole day with my home stay family. We visited the grandmas from both sides of the family. After hanging out at home for a few hours we headed to the home of one of the church members for supper. The family then sent me home with a plate full of goodies. I spent the whole day with my home stay family, and it was nice to be with a family again. They have definitely adopted me, and the extended family has as well. Don’t worry though, I haven’t forgotten about my real family. When I got home that evening, I called my real mom and talked also to my grandma.

Yesterday after class I wrote a paper and then baked cookies. I was baking cookies for my tutorial and for Naomi the IES director. The remainder of the cookies were consumed by my housemates. Today I had class all day, and at lunch I met my friend Shalagh-Anne. We hung out on the Jammie stairs for an hour. It was a good break in the day. Then after class I went with my friends Lull, Caroline and
The World BelowThe World BelowThe World Below

See, I told you they were clouds
Alex to CoCo Wah Wah and chilled for a bit. Now I am chilling in my house and getting caught up. That’s all I’ve been up to lately. My time is quickly running out here, and soon I need to plan what I am going to do with my free time here in Cape Town before I head home. The countdown has begun, and the thought of going home is bitter sweet. I will see you all soon enough, but before that I have some things to do.

With Love from Cape Town,
April



Additional photos below
Photos: 72, Displayed: 28


Advertisement

God's Natural ComedyGod's Natural Comedy
God's Natural Comedy

Who said God doesn't have a sense of humor. There is only one cloud in the whole sky, and it's just chilling above a distant peak.
Cape Town and the HarborCape Town and the Harbor
Cape Town and the Harbor

To your left you will see the harbor and Cape Town spread as far as the eye can see.
And to your left...And to your left...
And to your left...

You will find more of Cape Town and a good view of Lion's Head.
A Glimpse into the FutureA Glimpse into the Future
A Glimpse into the Future

This is Lion's Head. Mountain # 2 for the week, but I didn't know it at this point.
Fluffy and BeautifulFluffy and Beautiful
Fluffy and Beautiful

Looking off of Table Mountain at the Beautiful clouds.
Little Mountain FriendsLittle Mountain Friends
Little Mountain Friends

There was a colony of Dussy Chilling on the rocks on the Platteklip Gorge.
The DecentThe Decent
The Decent

Let the downward part begin.
Pre-FallingPre-Falling
Pre-Falling

This is probably the picture that I took right before I wiped out. Don't worry, the camera is fine, and I just got stuck in a whole in the rocks temporarily.
The View is betterThe View is better
The View is better

On the way down.
Zig-Zagging HikersZig-Zagging Hikers
Zig-Zagging Hikers

Of course, the best way up a mountain is not in a straight line. NO! You must zig zag. You burn more calories that way.
Looking Down Upon the CityLooking Down Upon the City
Looking Down Upon the City

You don't always see these things on the way up, because you are focused on the goal.
Which Way Now?Which Way Now?
Which Way Now?

We may not be able to decide which way we want to go, but at least we are happy in our indecisiveness.
Looking Back on Where We'd BeenLooking Back on Where We'd Been
Looking Back on Where We'd Been

It looks kind of intimidating from this perspective, but I promise it's not bad.


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb