Loverly morning in Cape Town :D


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
April 2nd 2009
Published: April 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay, Cape Town is so awesome :D Long Street is so kool, and I'm seeing Granny and Grandad soooooon, definitely a good day already, and its only 10:30 in the morning :D:D:D

The night bus was interesting, there was only 1 other person getting on at Sedgefield, a girl called D...can't remember her name, it started with a D. Anyway, glad I met her, she was German and really nice and we chatted some of the way. I must have managed to doze a bit though, cuz one minute I was listening to the first song of Viva La Vida and the next it had finished!! Hoyed some peanut butter and syrup sandwiches I had made earlier, was awesome. Managed to get a leg-stretch at about half 3 this morning, they stopped for some reason, but we still managed to make it to Cape Town 20mins early!! Walked to the Southern Sun at the Waterfront hotel, managed to get there, it was in the opposite side of Long Street that the rubbishy map showed, but its all good, just asked at a couple other hotels and I got there pretty fast. Its nice!! A porter gave me a room tour as well, who'd have thought there would be so much to tell you about a hotel room :p got a couple photos of the room on facebook already, and G&G ain't even here yet. Lovely view of part of Table Mountain!! Found out that its the Cape Town Jazz Fest 2moro night and the next night, might try and pop in at somepoint, Goldfish are playing!! Love them. Try and listen to them in you get a chance, they're pretty big over here. Decent dancy stuff, very decent indeed. Had a lovely hot shower (it was freezing on the bus at first, then they switched the air-con off and it was ABSOLUTELY BOILING, so sweaty) and tea, then headed out here to Long Street, and here I sit :D

Ok, so on the 29th (Sun) woke up nice and late-ish (like 7) and went for a runnnnnnn, did the plank and stuff then had to have my cereal with hot water as Gladwyn had drunk all the milk!! Grr. Hoyed it to the Wilderness market with Flip, driving the beach buggy again :D love it. It was a cute market, much smaller than the Sedgefield one, but recognised pretty much everyone from there!! Got talking to a couple on the donaut stall (sp?!) who gave us free donauts, and people selling Christian braclets - Flip bought one, and I got to choose free earring :D they;re nice and good quality as well, little dangly moon crescents. I wanted a pair of earrings :D well chuffed with them. Drove to the Wilderness beach and chilled there for a bit, went for a walk reading my book :D came accross crazy things that squirt water, there's some pics on my facebook of them (uploaded more photos today) :D went back to base and had lunch and drove Flip up to the Cloud 9 viewpoint as he hadn't seen it before - it still amazes me everytime I see it, its so beautiful. Took the car back 😞 and hoyed it on the internet and talked to Janey-Jane on faceboooook :D came back, Flip took a nap and I did productive things like sweep the room and write postcards and listen to the SA news on the radio hehe. Had a shower, and went up to Candi's for a braai, was soooo nice!! Her dad and step-mum are so lovely 😊 her wee bro and sis are so sweet too!! Hyperactive, but sweet, but what can you expect from 7 and 9 year-old eh :p we sat outside alooked at the stars for a bit, then they dropped us back at base. Flip bought sweets, I spoke to mum, then we slept.

Monday was work 😞 got up had brekkie, had a meetin with Fuller, she wanted me to do the rox/abseil set-ups AGAIN but in the middle of the day in the heat this time. Helped William take down the watch tent at the primary school, and took phone calls. Dropped in to see Chris's mum at her shop, read a bit, bought some tacs and helped William tac flags to the office ceiling, chatted to the nice stationary man for a bit - people think my accent is American now!! The scandal. I'm just trying to be clear!! Went to the gym, listened to the SOAD much to Fuller's disgust :p went on the stepper, was nice to do some gym-cardio again, other than the spinner!! Had a disaster trying to microwave chicken thighs - we managed to break the supposidly microwavable bowl :p so had toast and peanut butter for dinner!! Had a fright, cuz we thought the internet place had shut down (really, it was just being overtaken by another business, but was shut for a few days!!) me and FLip plaed some pool, I played good actualyl, but still got beat. Flip it flippin good at pool. Spoke to maw, went to sleep.

Tuesday also work, more phone answering. Had a crazy dream though, was freaky. Played cards with Flip, 11-card rummy, open table, is sooo fun!! Much better than the traditional 7-card one. Did the set-ups again pretty much perfectly :D spoke to G&G breifly, they're all excited :D chatted to Chris's mum again, went for an awesome 10-some run, was sooo flippin good!!Checked out Fuller and Deon's orange Nemesis kayak they bought, and had a shower then went up to see Candi again - and her parents insisted we stay for dinner again!! We felt so bad, but would have felt worse refusing, they were basically forcing our bums on the seats. Was nice to eat proper vegetables again!! Good chats too, they're such interesting and nice people. He has a timber business, and she's a persona trainer and has done all these crazy fitness things. Caught a lift home, and went to bed.

Wed - 1st April!! Calander changing day, its a red stag deer this time, I think. Very nice pic!! Went for my usual run, then Fuller told me I could take a days leave to sort out my stuff - but when I got out of the shower, Deon told me I was working!! He was being a total ass that morning, most likely because he couldn't come back to my comeback when he made a nasty comment about my legs. Annnnyway, anwered the phone, sorted out a new laundry list, and took washing along. When they came back I think he may have felt bad cuz he bought us salad and stuff and we all had a nice lunch :p and he gave me the rest of the afternoon off, after I'd bought salad, collected their post and measured their new static rope for the half-way point :p found out G&G's flight is delayed :S spoke to both mym and them though, its all good. Me and Flip went and bought Candi and her parents chocolate and wine, and dropped it off at her mum's work, went online to find directions to the hotel, then talked to Chris's mum and picked up our laundry. Packed, then went up to Candi's (again!! She seriously needs to do more with her time) :p on the pretence that we were going to the circus, but we ended up getting taken out for pizza at La Piazza instead, these people are too nice!! Was nice to have a glass of wine again 😊 went back and played rummy, Flip went to bed and I chilled, and went along to the bus (the rest is from the top) :p

I can't believe I'm in Cape Town again!! Gunna head back to the hotel soon, hope they're here soon!! Lovelovelovelove xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb