Busy Week!!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Sedgefield
March 28th 2009
Published: March 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Man, I'm shattered!! :D

So on the 22nd (Sunday) after the failed internet attempt, me and Iona went to the beach after having a massive chat about anything and everything, was kool. Met Chloe on the way up, we hung out on the beach and I skipped and swum loads 😊 Iona made a cute sandcastle!! Came back, called the lady my granny's friend knows, and she invited us to visit, and me to stay anytime, pretty kool!! Spoke to mum and people, was kool. Iona plucked my eyebrows for me, needed done badly!!

23rd - back to work, I was DP so I opened the gate then went for a runnnnnnnnnnnnnnn, revised a bit, finished the canoe test :S did a self-evaluation, wasn't fun, hate doing these!! Learned a lot of team-building games to play with students, was kool. Went kayaking, I was rolling well, but not bracing well enough. Iona got her kayaking LOC!! :D went to the gymmmmmmmmmmmmm, was complimented a lot about the 10k from people!! Had a shower, me and Chloe played some pool, then came back and we got a massages on the go cuz we were all so stiff from kayaking!!

24th - awesome day!! Did group PT, awesome 6-some uphill sprints :D love it. Went to do site-specifics on the rox site, but when we got there, we realised Iona and Natasha had forgotten to pack one of the ropes... was a nice drive though :p came back, got slagged loads, had lunch then went to the Abseil site (double checked the ropes this time) :p and did our set-ups, was good fun, but we all had little things wrong. Classic banter with Deon though, he bought us lollipops!! We ended up getting locked in the nature reserve, deon had to shout at people down the phone to get out the gate hehe. Dinner, shower, internet, shared my nougat.

25th - really tired!! Did PT with Iona and Chris, awesome 6-some again :D me and Natasha went kayaking with the trainees, my braces are getting better 😊 hoyed some nice bomb-proof rolls (when you 'loose' your paddle/its in an awkward position, and you have to fix it underwater then roll out) was good fun!! Feels so good to be able to do. I love showing off :p wish I could brace properly!! Tried to learn LOP's (local operating procedures) for rox and abseil sites, and wrote down some interesting OB quotes. Practiced the abseil set-up, then went with my new friend Rudolf to the Sedgefield Striders training session - a times 5k - it was hard, I had a cold, but did it in 23mins 30secs, not bad, it had some hills. I had bought a thank-you card for an old guy called Peter who I'd talked to at the 10k, and he'd managed to get me a race-t-shirt, even though it was only supposed to be the 30k runners who got one!! :D such nice people. Went back, had dinner/shower, then we went back to Tiffany's Tarvan for the social - but everyone had left by the time we got there!! So we watched some of Yes Man, was really good!! Went back and spoke to my Roy 😊😊😊 and crashed out.

26th - not a great day, wasn't in a great mood, we had to go out rox/abseil LOC's in the heat, it just couldn't concentrate and couldn't get it right... let's not waste time on this day :p talked to Fuller for a bit then felt a bit better. Did my water safety LOC tho, that went well. The swimming PT in the morning was hellish, lifesaving-based, constant speed-swimming and treading water, we all felt pretty sick after. After the water safety, we celebrated with hot choc and revised a bit.

27th - much better day!! Did my set-ups again in the morning, and did my LOP's almost perfect, so got my rox/abseil LOC's :D took in a load of laundry, everyone else was packing for Harrismith. Felt weird, everyone packing to go. Picked up post with Natasha, booked a bikini-wax, had lunch, chatted to Iona and Flip, while everyone else left to pitch a watch-tent at the school (they left without us!!) Said bye to everyone at the bus-station, was a bit surrel and sad, saying bye to Iona was especially strange!! Went back to base, and went out with Candi (friend I made through Ted/Pieter) to her boyfriend's work - he works in a posh restaurnant in a hotel - got free cocktails 😊 was such a kool night, lovely view at Lake Pleasant!! We went to one of her friend's parties after, and to Chats, the bar she works at. Was kool. Candi's house is awesome, I stayed there after, was nice to sleep ina proper bed!!

Today, the 28th, was another kool day. Got awesome coffee in the morning :D then we went back to base and me and Candi and Flip went to the market and had breakfast, came back and I got my wax and booked my bus to Cape Town :D the waxing ladt was good, not that sore!! Me and Flip hoyed the beach buggy and hoyed it to George, wandered around the shops then saw Marley and Me at the cinema - dear god, it is s sad film, was hectic!! Did not expect it to be so moving, not got that upset at a movie since Brokeback Mountain!! Seriously. Had ice-cream, then saw the Dolphin Viewpoint overlooking Wilderness on the way back again, was nice. Very chilled day 😊 pretty tired and emotionally drained now tho after that movie!! It was so nice to drive again today, I love the open-topped experience, having the wind and sun in your face, such an experience.

Still having an awesome experience, still loving it and living life to the full, still missing everyone, counting down the days til G&G get here, so excited!! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



28th March 2009

Glad you,ve cheered up since the 26th!!! xxxxxxxxxxxx "Life's like that and that's the way it is."
28th March 2009

all sounds pretty 'kool' haha to use your word. Why are you saying bye to iona, where is she going? I cried like a baaaaby at the end of marley and me. Animals just get me going what can i say. btw spoke to your mum today, i will be emailing you missy, you must eat more iron!!! i am most alarmed! xxx

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb