5-4-3-2-1 .... BUNGEEEEE


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
July 20th 2008
Published: July 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

not looking down!  not looking down!  not looking down!

this actually wasn't too scary since I was not letting myself think about what I was about to do...
Molweni!

The academic part of my experience here is over - and I do miss it sometimes, although I am really enjoying not having any papers to write, papers to read, or maps to draw. Our written exam this past Tuesday (after our oral presentations Monday) was such a wonderful experience for me. I wrote for three hours about my experiences here both about our field work/service-learning and application of theories covered in our course. I really learned a lot about the processes that make my head work. Three hours was not long enough; I think that is the first time an exam period has been too short for me!

The weather this past week has been wonderful and today is absolutely beautiful! It has been a good final week for those in my group who are leaving tomorrow to return to the states. I can't believe I myself only have 8 more days in this wonderful place I have called my home on more than one occasion. You might be surprised how many people have believed me when I have told them I am from Cape Town, which is not a lie since I have lived here for
screamingscreamingscreaming

Yes, this scared me a lot. I screamed nearly the whole way down, but I did have my eyes open!
more than a month.

Four days ago we moved back to Green Elephant Backpackers, the hostel where we stayed the first few days after our initial arrival in Cape Town. I feel right at home here, daily meeting and interacting with people from all over the world in addition to locals. I am making valuable connections for when I come back here next year to pursue graduate school or some other such fancy. I also especially enjoy walking to pick n pay to buy groceries for my breakfasts and lunches, using my green bag in place of plastic 😊, and greeting people on the way there that I have met here. How nice to know people and feel like one has a good place in the world.

Two days ago we went on a wine tour. We toured three wineries and I ended up buying a bottle to bring with me back to the states, not having planned to do so because my one big suitcase is absolutely full and I have no idea how to fit anything more in!

Yesterday, seven of us, plus Vuyani (who works at the hostel), woke up early and got picked
freefallingfreefallingfreefalling

after the initial shock and I'm flying now!
up at 6:00 am by a taxi. We rode six hours to Bloukrans Bridge over Storms River, which is 216 metres above the water. It happens to also be the home of the world's highest bungy jump. You guessed it...I jumped it! What a scary, exhilarating, adrenaline-full experience that I plan to do again someday. Sorry mom(s) and dad(s) who did not want to know this. Pictures to come soon, and whoever is interested can watch the video with me when I get home! * since writing this blog I have added pictures to it so look for the link!

I have limited access to the internet now that we are back at the hostel, but I will try to get online a couple more times before I leave.

Sending hugs across the ocean...
Love and peace,
Charis/
Siphokazi


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

after the return to the bridgeafter the return to the bridge
after the return to the bridge

wanting to do it all over again!
Back on my feetBack on my feet
Back on my feet

a thumbs up experience


20th July 2008

Down with plastic bags! My house is so much less overrun with bags now that I use reusable!

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb