Sweet cries and goodbyes


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
July 22nd 2008
Published: July 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Molweni! Ninjani?

Today is chilly and foggy, but I went for a run this morning anyway. It's very funny that, to me, a short run used to be fifteen minutes, but now a short run is thirty minutes. Ah well, I'm a true runner now.

Two days ago one of my comrades from my group, Jessica, and I took my IT partner, Xolile (who I taught how to use a computer), to a nice restaurant at the Waterfront mall in downtown Cape Town. It was his first time in a restaurant and he immensely enjoyed himself. I was so happy to get him out of Khayelitsha for a while. When I asked him what he thought of the experience, he said it was really nice not to have to think about all the things going on in Khayelitsha. I offered the word "freeing" and he agreed that was a very freeing experience. Xolile's wish as we walked around was to get on a boat, something he had also never done before. It was such a simple wish (to us), to get on a boat, and we were successful in requesting that someone let us aboard his boat. It was so nice to fulfill such simple requests from someone and know that doing so means the world to him - that honouring these requests is such a great gift! It was so nice for him to be aware of what is going on in the 'outside' world, and he expressed wishes to have something like the Waterfront in Khayelitsha. When we suggested he start a mall, he seemed optimistic about doing so. When you open up something new to someone, you open up the world.

Yesterday afternoon my comrades (except for three of us) left for America. There was much crying as I hugged those I've grown close to over our journey. I did not realise how much I really would miss certain friends I've made until I saw them waving out of the window of the van as they rode away. It also made me think about the fact that I will be leaving in a week. I don't want to think about this! That is why I will now move on to something else. I don't want to leave!

I cooked supper last night for what turned out to be about ten people at Greenelephant Backpackers. It felt so good to be in charge of a stove again! I cooked pasta with a cheese sauce (which turned out to be more like a really strong cheese soup since we ran out of flour!) and chicken cooked separately since there was a vegetarian. It's amazing how many locals here do not eat vegetables often at all; my American self wonders how their bodies function, but then I make myself aware that I am thinking from a mindset that vegetables are incredibly important to your diet.

Last night Jessica's (Jessica is my friend who took Xolile out to lunch with me) friend from Khayelitsha, Nobubele, came to see us at the hostel. Both Jessica and I tutored Nobubele during our time at Khayelitsha, so we have a good bond between the three of us. She had a good time visiting us, and she ate some of my "cheese soup" and pasta before returning to her house in Khayelitsha. This is the part I wanted to tell you about: one of Vuyani's friends who has a car drove us to Khayelitsha to drop off Nobubele because it was nighttime and taxis do not like driving to the townships in the dark. On the way one of the tires on the car popped after hitting a huge pot hole. So there we were, five in all, on the side of the road halfway in Khayelitsha in the dark trying to change a tire. One of the tools we were using broke because the screws holding the tire on were too tight, so we all hopped back in the car and drove slowly around the corner to a petrol station, where we managed to change the tire. What a fun and new experience it was for me! It was such fun for me to experience this, because it is real life and I love living real life. I got first-hand experience looking at what night looks like in a township, and first-hand experience in being confident as one of two white women on the side of a road in a black township at night. I really hope this is not scaring any of you reading this, for I was incredibly safe and secure. It is these experiences I will remember, and these experiences that actually do make me want to come back and live here rather than scare me away.

Well, here I am today, ready to snuggle with a blanket on a couch with some Rooibos and a good book. Perhaps Vuyani will today show me to a good used book store where I can stock up on books for the week. I'm excited about being a bit alone this week, away from most Americans (no offense to all of you, who I love dearly!) and able to pursue adventures of my own (safely, mind you). I plan to breathe deeply, relax, read, cook, sleep, dance, hike, and do whatever comes my way. The only definite plan I do have is staying the night with our driver, Leonard, on Saturday, and attending his Church Sunday.

I hope all is well in all of your families and lives.
Challenge for the day: meet someone new and REALLY find out about his/her life; make a new friend.

And remember, you change the world every day. No interaction is insignificant.

Cheers, Salani Kakuhle
Love,
Charis/
Siphokazi

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0649s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb