South Atlantic Passage


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
September 25th 2005
Published: September 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well yesterday was the lowest point of my trip. First I missed breakfast because I forgot to set my clock ahead an hour (we’ve had to do this 5 times in the past week!) Global studies was awesome, Archbishop Desmond Tutu was at center stage and giving a wonderful performance, he really is an encouraging and jovial man. But after that uplifting hour and a half, a visibly distraught Dean John had to address the shipboard community and break the news to us that we are no longer going to Kenya. We’ve known all along that the political climate in Kenya is somewhat shaky, but the US has just issued a new travel advisory specifically for maritime vessels cautioning any stops in Kenya or anywhere along the eastern coast of Africa. Apparently terrorism and piracy, yes, piracy, are at a high and even a US military ship scheduled to port in Mombasa around the same time we were supposed to be there has diverted. I’m not going to lie (a seemingly popular phrase on this ship) I am pretty bummed. Not only was I looking forward to my 4 day camping safari, a life long dream of mine, but I was also extremely excited to visit the Bombolulu Handicraft center. Last year at the “Work of Human Hands” craft sale at JCU I had purchased a pin made by handicapped people at the Bombolulu center and I was really looking forward to meeting them. Oh well. I knew going into this voyage that the itinerary was subject to change at any time. We have not yet been told where we will be going in place of Kenya, but a quick look at a world map will show you that there are not many other places to go in the Indian Ocean. I am sure where ever we do end up I will have a great time, and this just means I will definitely be coming back to Africa…anyone want to join me? To add to yesterday’s misery, the seas have been rougher, the skies cloudier and the temperature around 62 degrees. When outside is half of the limited places you can go crappy weather sucks. Last night my friends and I were at a loss for things to do and really just wanted to go for a drive and get some pizza or ice cream..Coldstone maybe? That is all pretty hard though when you are floating somewhere in the South Atlantic. I saw a bird though the other day, that was cool.

On a happier note, we are getting of this ship tomorrow…in CAPE TOWN! It is supposed to be one of the most beautiful cities in the world and I am totally psyched about it. The only SAS trip that I have planned is a nature tour which includes going to a botanical garden, winery (wine tasting!) and on a cruise to see seals! I am also planning on going to Robben Island (prison where Nelson Mandela was held) and to Table Mountain. South Africa is sure to be a wonderful place and I can’t wait to get there!

I am going to try to get to an internet café one night and get on AOL, so all you imers keep an eye out for me (sparkl285)! And all you JCU kids, eat an extra M&M cookie for me…I miss them!

Oh, and if you sent me mail to be received in Kenya, thanks so much! Hopefully I will get it returned to my house sometime next year.

Tata for now,
The (can’t-wait-to-get-off-the-ship) butterfly traveller


Advertisement



25th September 2005

Kenya
That a girl! Even with disappointment, you look forward and make the best of the situation. I remember trips to the gift shop attached to an IV pole at Hackensack,going on the bike trail with a wheelchair, and cheesecake when you couldn't even taste food. I miss your spirit.
28th September 2005

Woah!
I love your Blog! I am so happy that you are having all those experiences. To bad about Kenya, but I know you will go back. Hey if I ever have a couple thousand - I would love to go with:) I am having a great time in LA - excluding the crazy traffic. Volunteering is a billion times better than student teaching. Woo Hoo! Have a wonderful time in South Africa! Love, Jan
29th September 2005

hey there girl. you have mail coming, it just might be a little while. but from now on youll get it at all your stops. Sorry to hear about your slightly altered plans but i hope you are still having a blast. i cant wait till i get to talk to you again.
30th September 2005

I'm so jealous!
It sounds like you're having a great time! It's too bad about the Kenya excursion, but it does give you reason to travel to that part of the world again! (I'd be happy to join you.) I spoke with your mom yesterday - she sounds good and is definitely missing you, looking forward to December. Keep safe and be well - talk to you soon.

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb