Shores of Cape Town


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
September 30th 2007
Published: September 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Dear Readers,
It is the last day of the month and people have been leaving from the house. I think things are going to slow down for about a week. Afterwards, the third and final group that I will be involved with is showing up. The house this month has been like something found on the Real World. For those of you not familiar with the Read World, this TV program places a number of younger people in one house and lets all of the following drama play out while being broadcast to the world. In our South African house, we have had to deal with everything from random “hook-ups” to “who stole my Diet Coke?” I think it will now be a bit more relaxing to see some of these people going home.

It is not to say that we all didn’t come with some kind of an agenda. I am taking time off from school and finding out who I am (we will get to this later). Other people’s situations have been as serious as figuring out marriages, family life, etc. Yet, it is not as important the reasons for choosing to volunteer. The bigger issue should be the commitment to individual placements once in-country. Our work as volunteers should be everyone’s number one priority over everything else. Unfortunately, when people are choosing to have their time and effort directed toward less productive interactions it is only diminishing to the overall group effort. It also hurts the community spirit and unity.

I am learning how to be more comfortable with whom I am as a person without the negative influence of the people around me. All too often do people reflect their own short comings or problems on those around them. I am looking to rise above this and be as “free spirited” as possible. Living in South Africa has allowed me to come into my own as I navigate life’s directions. I am also making connections with people who I will stay in contact with for the rest of my life.

Although life should be slowing down a bit and my experiences not as dramatic, I have been keeping busy with stuff outside of placement. We did a full moon hike up Lions Head which is a peak rising 1000ft. above the shores of Cape Town. A small group of us watched the sun go down over the Atlantic horizon as the moon simultaneously came up over the city. The first picture above was from Camps Bay, one of the upper class beaches near the city center.

++++++++++

I am not being self-serving here and I hope that nobody is thinking otherwise. It is challenging to spend the day in a township and then switch to a completely different life. I hope that I am making a difference. I hope that I can figure out what I am doing with my life. I hope that I am sharing my life in South Africa with my readers. This is my gift to the people who are most important to me.

Thanks,
Mr. Barker


Advertisement



1st October 2007

XOXO
XOXO
9th October 2007

woo
XOXO hehe. lol.

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb