Cape Town Reunion


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
February 18th 2007
Published: February 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

16Feb07

Today is my first day in Africa.

Breakfast at the hotel blew me away. I now realize we are staying in a nice hotel with multiple staff waiting on you during the included breakfast buffet. I feel like I’m treated as royalty here and it make me uncomfortable. Mmmm French press coffee and smoke salmon! I met Dave (mechanic) and John Valk in the restaurant during breakfast.

The rest of the tour group arrives and I meet Peter Thiersch, Bruno, Kris, Doug, Fionnuala, Ian, Peri, Murray, Ellen, Bon Bon, John, Terry and David. It seems like everyone’s luggage got delayed.

Phebe, Patrick, Bob, Bon Bon and I visited the Victoria Alfred Waterfront - a working harbour and tourist destination. This part of town is very touristy and the prices of goods and lunch reflected this. We went shopping and had lunch at the Den Anker restaurant. I discovered the pharmacy and cool little deli across the street from the hotel.

I’m so tired that a short nap turns into three hours and I miss dinner.

17Feb07

We toured Table Mountain and Cape Town this morning. The weather was perfect to visit Table Mountain
Victoria Alfred Waterfront 2Victoria Alfred Waterfront 2Victoria Alfred Waterfront 2

Working harbour and tourist attraction. Here are fishing boats and drydock (not seen on the right)
and I’m glad we went early to avoid the crowds. Didn’t seem much wild life but the views from the mountain were spectacular.

In the afternoon, we went to pickup the bikes from the warehouse. My poor baby "Ducky" where have you been for the last two months! There must be a ton of work Dave and John's team do in the background shipping the bikes, organizing vehicle insurance, checking out the bikes, clearing customs… It shows by how quickly we gear up, startup and ride away.

First thing I’m reminded is that Rusty mounted a new tire prior to shipping the bike to SA. This happens as I lean into my first turn and inadvertently spun the back tire in power-slide around a corner. My heart jumped into my throat and the rider behind probably thought I was a reckless idiot.

The second thing that’s strikes me is that I have to change the way I shoulder check, scan intersections and monitor the mirrors. They drive on the left side of the road here which means I have to start scanning to the right, working my way to my left. This is quite an adjustment which
Table Mountain 1Table Mountain 1Table Mountain 1

Taken from the Tram facing the mountain.
I hope soon comes naturally before I get clocked by traffic.

Waving (a common cultural behavior among motorcyclists) is more difficult because you can’t let go of the throttle to wave at oncoming traffic. I notice that they nod their helmet more as you pass by fellow motorcyclists.

Roundabouts are popular here and difficult for us Vancouverites who don’t have a lot of practice on them never mind that it’s going in a clockwise direction. I also notice the centre line is a valid driving surface and negotiable depending on who is there first and the size of your vehicle.

The group becomes scattered in traffic and we’re left on our own to wander back to the hotel. Both Murray and Patrick had GPS programmed with South African maps and managed to lead the majority of the group back to the hotel. The parking lot on top of the hotel can only be accessed through a steep ramp - an accident waiting to happen.

A group of us decide to ride to Camp Bay for some fish and chips in the afternoon. Unfortunately mechanic Dave who was leading thought we were going to the fish and
Table Mountain 2Table Mountain 2Table Mountain 2

Facing Cape Town. Robben Island can be seen off in the distance.
chips place in a town further away and I lose them in traffic. I end up turning off and on the road back to the cable car for Table Mountain.

Phebe and Patrick graciously hosted a wine and cheese party in their suite where I got to meet and chat with the rest of the group. What a wonderful way to end my first day of riding in South Africa!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb