I woke up this morning..


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
June 27th 2005
Published: October 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

I just wanted to say, I woke up this morning to shear joy!

I read all your comments and received many B-day wishes ( which I LOVED). More important were the many comments from those of you that see my journey, as something you would like to give some of your time and energy too! I am so proud that with only my eyes and a few thoughts put down, I have been able to whisper in a few people's ears, to help make a difference in our world. That is a B-day present that means more to me, then any material item.

It is the gift of your heart, to care about people, you will never see or meet. I am so proud that a group of people, like me, who don't have money, fame, or anything to gain but knowledge, have expressed interest. This could mean a few more children can go to school. The blankets are white, instead of brownish-red with the soil of the floor, in a hospital, or that the straving can have at least one meal a day. This wakes me up with a new energy.

Please continue to share your thoughts and ideas with me. I agree with Kelly (who needs to have that baby SOON! ) if, we stay connected it makes it easier. Honestly, I have plans that I am too scared to write down! However, with love and support I feel maybe, just maybe, my larger dream is possible.

To Val, Thanks for the organization's name. There are many and when I have time, I will list them. Unfortunately, I never heard from your friend. I am sure she is to busy changing the world!
Thank you all again for caring, look out world! :

Advertisement



27th June 2005

Your blogs just continue to amaze me
Kim I tried to send you b-day blessings yesterday, but somehow my computer was acting up - and it was mine - but you share a birthday with my closest friend on earth - my college roommate from the early 50's - and she turned 72 yesterday which I did remind her of when we talked last night. I was telling her about your travels and she too will be praying and thinking of you. I'm so glad you've had this opportunity. You may recallthat I was supposed to have made a trip to South Africa several years ago for the Quilt and then got sick and now the doctor says I'm never to leave the US because of the intestinal problems I have. I've often regretted not being able to make the trip, but your blogs have surely made me understand what other friends have told me. I would hope that after you are home and back into the swing of things that we can get together and possibly I can arrange to have you come to our church and share some of your experiences. I know our folk would be responsive. We have a former pastor who was a missionary in Tanzania for several years, prior HIV and then he's been back in the US and pastored our church, worked for another mission organization up in North St. Louis and more recently completed his doctorate in Public Policy at ST. Louis U - and now he and his family are back over there. I have his e-mail address but can't remember which country he's in. This time he's there working for a for profit company where they are working with the folks to teach them how to make a living, etc. He's extremely happy with this return. So....belated Happy Birthday....and best wishes for a continued good trip. Look forward to your blogs an also to seeing you at a later time. Ruth Ellsworth
27th June 2005

hello again from arlene
27th June 2005

hello again from arlene
Hi Kim - if you get a blank comment it's from me -I pressed enter before I typed the message. Your entries are so thought provoking and your pictures are spectacular!! WOW! I can't express all the emotions I go through as I read - I can't imagine how your emotions must go through the whole spectrum of awesome wonder to sheer disbelief and sadness. My heart goes out to all those people, especially the kids. Keeping you in my prayers and Happy (belated) Birthday! your pal, arlene
29th June 2005

Eyes wide open
Thanks for taking us along your journey. Your vivid discriptions and stories made me feel like I was there with you. The detail and passion used in your entires showed that this ment alot to you and in turn ment alot to myself and the rest of us following you. P.S Happy b-day Thanks again

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 6; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb