3 Weeks Later...


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Mpumalanga
September 26th 2009
Published: September 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone!

First off ... my bad. I realize it has been 3 weeks and I haven't updated this since I left Canadia. Lets Move on...

AFRICA!
After a journey that took me 2 days, my entire iPod battery, a few pints of beer, and 2 sleeping pills I arrived here in South Africa. I'm staying just north of Neilspruit, a super developed little city with a gigantic mall to it's name. Look it up on a map.
I'm not even sure what to write because I have been here 3 weeks already! Hard to believe.
I arrived a few days before the "official" Hands at Work orientation began so I had some time to meet all the new volunteers around and some of the people that make this place run ... smoothly? Everyoneis grrrreat and there are a ton of Canadians kickin around. Hands Village is where I'm sleeping at night and it's pretty much just a gated little community with electric fencing running around the entire perimeter. I've been told that it has the power to throw a man ... so i haven't touched it.
As for my position here ... I'm still unsure. I've been put onto a gardening team that goes around to the different care centres in the area and teaches ... rather shows the people how to garden better. Now me being a huge gardener and all have been selected as the one who will ... soon enough ... be able to travel alone and start gardens in care centres as well as give the people crucial tips as to how to garden correctly. I hope your laughing right now.
Aside from the gardening we (the new volunteers) went out on our community stays last weekend. A community stay is where we get matched with a family living in one of the communities we help work in and stay with them for 5 days. I stayed with 2 guys that were 18 and 20 and lived in a community pretty close to Hands Village called Masoyi. It was a crazy experience but we had tons of fun ... and all of us shared a double bed. Just thought I'd throw that in there.
Anyway survived community stay and got back to Hands on Tuesday. Ran show in some gardens Wednesday ... then starting Thursday was our long weekend.
SAFARI! Super stoked ... went out to Kruger National Park on Thursday. Kruger is only a 20 minute drive from Hands. So we all piled into one of the Hands vans and set off for a day in the park. I will put some photos up once I get an IP address for my computer but for now you will just have to imagine African animals roaming freely around our minibus. We saw a suprising number of animals ... we had heard that some people go and don't see anything all day. I lost count ... it was an animal/heard of animals every 10-15 minutes. I got some mad pics ... just wait.
Yesterday We climbed a mountain that is nearby the Village and today I slept in.
I'm getting tired of typing and it's hot in this office so I'm done for now.
Hope all is well in Canada...

Will

Advertisement



26th September 2009

ALive!
willis- so happy i can journey with you (via blog action)! miss and love ya!!!
30th September 2009

nice.
6th October 2009

not baaad
hey worn, thats greaaat. way better than okaaay.

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb