Mozambie


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Limpopo » Hoedspruit
April 6th 2009
Published: April 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

whale shark and mewhale shark and mewhale shark and me

This is me behind the baby whale shark. this one is only five metres long
Hello everyone,
Sorry that my first addition to facebook has taken so long, this is my fifth attempt to get online. The internet places are quite a walk (and bus ride) away and their connection is very hit and miss and we had a power cut for most of the day today (Thursday).
I’ve been here in Tofo beach for nearly three weeks now, I now have my open water PADI qualification(down to 18 metres) and am just waiting for good weather to get in my deep water dive (30 metres). We are now able to get down to the work of reef monitoring after being tested on the sixty four indicator species that we keep a check on to see if the reefs are staying healthy. The colours and shapes of the fish here are really amazing, it’s like being inside a TV programme. I’ve also swam with five whale sharks and a Manta Ray, although I missed the dolphins that some of my companions saw three days ago.
The weather, as you would expect is very hot and steamy, but I’m acclimatising OK. Today it rained all day, with a strong wind and more is forecast for tomorrow, so
diving photodiving photodiving photo

grinning at sixty feet below the waves
it might be Friday before I can go out again.
I’m going to try to enclose a snap of me and the whale shark, but you know me and technology. This was only a baby at 4 to 5 metres long. The biggest one I have seen was 8 metres, although they grow up to 20 metres long, more than a Humpback whale.
The next addition to my profile will probably be in South Africa. I’m told that the camp where I am staying has it’s own internet connection , so , fingers crossed I should have some pics to show.
See you in November,
Ken



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

searching for whale sharkssearching for whale sharks
searching for whale sharks

This is my intrepid pose. You can spot whale sharks on the surface, but the spotter immediately behind me is always the first to see them.


6th April 2009

Hiya Uncle Ken. It looks like you are having a "whale" of a time! Glen is so very jealous! I am sure he will look forward to reading more of your stories. The pictures are fab - looking forward to seeing more. I know mum is missing you loads so it is good that you can keep us updated with your progress and so we all know you are safe and well. Take care and happy diving. Lots of love, Jen, Glen and William xxxx

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb