Indiana Jones I'm not


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Limpopo » Hoedspruit
August 10th 2008
Published: August 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So how hard could it be to shoot something

After a much needed day of rest after the antics of Thursday and Friday night, Sunday was Shooting & Rifle handling for the Sunday lecture. So as for someone that has only handled a gun once in their life this was gonna be an interesting day.

So first the Rifle handling lecture, not too bad as I could remember some of this from quiet a few years ago. Then came the shooting itself. First round of 3 shots missed every single target, in fact I nearly shot Mel, which was quiet a miracle because she was actually standing behind me at the time. The second round a 3 shot to be taken in 15 seconds or less, not too bad I managed to hit (now I was gonna lie and say 3) 1 of the target, ok when I say hit I managed to hit the paper. So I will have to wait until the next time they repeat this lecture in the coming weeks to so if I can improve.

Back to see Jessica again and get up close and too personnel

After the great visit to see the amazing hippo Jessica I thought it would be good to travel with some of the new guys from the camp to stay at the lodge by the river. Once we unpacked it was time to go back down to the river to see Jessica. I was walking towards the river when I saw Shirley, she is the woman looking after Jessica. Shirley saw me and I went to give her a welcome cuddle, when out of the blue jessica apperered and pushed herself between us. So as you can imagine what this felt like having a One Ton hippo push into you. It was even more frighting when I looked down onto my right leg to see that Jessica had managed to rip open the whole leg of my shorts. Shirley was really shocked at what had happened but I quickly thought that all Jessica was doing was being protective of Shirley. As I was lucky to say the least not to be injured and only escaping with a pair of ripped shorts I then went down to the river to join the rest of the group who had missed this to be asked why I was walking around with my pants on show. About 5 minutes later Jessica appeared in the river. For a brief second I thought about leaving the River Jetty and go back to the lodge and wait for the rest of the group, instead I stayed and Jessica came straight up to me and seemed to smile and I felt at ease again. So a word of advice, never come between a hippo and it mother !!!!!!. The rest of the evening was as before. Great meal and loads of drinking and singing games in front of a camp fire.



Advertisement



19th August 2008

Oh Dear Shame about and shorts
Hi Honey well what another week of fun and adventure you have had. The stories of Kruger remind us of 1982 when we spent a whole 2 weeks in Kruger we stayed in rondarvals with a fan for air-con on the ceiling I bet the places are so much different now. The photos get better by the week I have to figure out how to print them off and start the scrap book as promised. I went shopping in your favourite place on Sunday and a young girl Naiome said to say hello and hopes you are keeping safe and well. Everyone misses you soooooooooo much Paul Draper sends his best you know the lad who lives across the way from meand works saturdays on the c/outs. The weather is still dreadful here any 11 weeks until our holiday and Kerrys wedding by the way she is getting on well at the depot.Well there isnt any more news for now but do watch jessica I would hate to think of her making a meal of your bum. Lots of Love and Special Hugs Sandie and Kerry xx

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb