Leaving Moholoholo :(


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Limpopo » Hoedspruit
February 16th 2007
Published: February 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I leave Moholoholo on tuesday. I'm soo sad 😞 I don't really want to go and could possibly stay longer now too. I do want to see what my other project is like though. I am going to a community project only about 30 mins away so if I really don't like it I can come back!

We have been very busy tagging Vultures and Marabou Storks.We have tagged over 100 now and released them. Brian is very happy! I'm really annoyed as I've got some great pictures but my camera just died so can only share the ones that I have saved already.

We have a 50 year old vet from Seattle here. He arrived on Monday. Its good having a vet here and he even brought a suitcase full of syringes,needles,bandages etc.

Jolly and Juba our two Cheetahs are not well. Jolly is in a bad way. They ate a warthog which made them sick. Jolly is worse than Juba he had to be put on a drip. He is getting better although cheetah diarrhoea is possibly the worst smell in the world. Vulture sick does come close though. I have been sitting with Jolly today. Its weird just being able to cuddle a 20 month old cheetah. Who else gets to do that sort of thing?

We went to see Zebby the Zebra on Sunday.Brian hand raised her 17 years ago. She has a new baby and lives on the farm. On the way down to see her we saw Giraffe,Zebra,Wart hog,Impala and two Rhinos wallowing in mud. This was all literally in 5 minutes. I can't believe how lucky I am!

I should really get going. I am just going to spend my last few days making the most of what I have. I may be coming back to Moholoholo in 2 weeks though. I'm definetly not ready to leave Africa just yet!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Jo and KateJo and Kate
Jo and Kate

At wilderbees lapa. They have left now :(
Ashton and KassiAshton and Kassi
Ashton and Kassi

It was Ashtons 19th
Moholoholo Ya MatiMoholoholo Ya Mati
Moholoholo Ya Mati

Where I want to get married :)
Robs new hairRobs new hair
Robs new hair

My camera died after this pic so couldn't show you Will's new hair Sorrrrrrrrrrry!!!!


19th February 2007

cool
Poor cheetah hope he gets better soon. I guess you will be staying there alot longer than you were going to originaly. Have a nice time Lew xxx

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb