Welcome to Woza Moya


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » KwaZulu-Natal
January 21st 2011
Published: January 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Week 2

Monday morning we went to Oxfam to meet Sue, the founder and director of Woza Moya. We would follow her car up to Woza Moya. She was immediately incredibly welcoming, it was lovely. She greeted us with a hug and I immediately felt comfortable with her. After stopping on our way to pick up two chickens for Woza Moya (the others had been killed by a local dog), we arrived there at about 12noon. We were given a quick tour around the centre and had a quick introduction to the other staff. We then headed to the Buddhist Retreat Centre (BRC), as this would be our accommodation and where we would get all our meals. We arrived in time for lunch and settled down to a delicious meal. Lunches were the main meal of the day, with the evening meal at 17:30 and consisting of soup, bread, cheese, spreads and fruit. Every meal was vegetarian. At lunch there was a selection of dishes to choose from and home made bread. Breakfast was eaten in silence, so no good morning, how are you, just nods hello. Interesting, but you get used to it. We also have to be silent when we are in our rooms and the surrounding area.

The afternoon of this first day Sophie and I were given free time to explore and get ourselves unpacked and settled. The scenery around both Woza Moya and the BRC was stunning. They are situated at within a number of valleys and hills, very beautiful and peaceful. So I spent the afternoon reading in the sun. Very pleasant. There are lots of walks on the property, so before dinner, Sophie and I walked to the dam up and down part of the property.

Tuesday morning we joined one of the Community Care Workers (CCW) on her visits to client's homes. Her role varies depending on the client's requirements. Most of the people we visited were sick in some way and needed to be monitored with how they were coping. It was really interesting wandering through the hills, through their houses, seeing how people lived. They were all very welcoming and happy for us to be in their homes (or at least that's what we were told). The rondavels (round houses) were of varying standards. There was horrendous poverty, but I didn't find myself particularly shocked or upset by what I saw. Maybe because I'd seen it before and was expecting it. Still, it is a very difficult situation and the role of the CCW is very important. The CCW's walk long distances to visit their clients within their region and through rolling hills and deep valleys. We were lucky it was a sunny day, can't imagine having to do it in the rain.

This week the organisation was training in a database system to record all the work they do and to allow them to report accurately to their donors about the work that they perform. I sat in on some of the training as they are hoping that I might be able to assist the staff in the next few weeks as the changes are implemented. I pick these things up really quickly and have better base skills than the staff. It was interesting to watch as it also helped me gain a better understanding of the role CCW's have in the organisation. So this filled in some of my time. Sophie and I also were involved in scanning old photos to create an electronic record of photos from when Woza Moya first started and over the years.

Wednesday morning was lots of fun. This was the first day of the play group for 3-5 year olds and so Sophie and I helped out. There were 21 kids, with only 6 of them from last year. There were a few tears, but after awhile they got more relaxed and started having some fun. Some of them were very cheeky and tested what they could get away with. One of them pointed and touched my eyebrow ring and nose ring, indicated she didn't really know what to think of them. I had a couple snuggle up to me. Another wanted me to try and use the hoola hoop. I had so much fun trying, taking me back to my childhood, what happened to my skill. I think at least one of us, if not both of us will help out here Tues, Wed and Thurs mornings. They particularly need help with preparing food. This will allow them to do more of the work and organising with the kids.

Friday we worked on the new website that Woza Moya was launching. We got to work on the backend of the website which was really interesting. I haven't done that type of thing before. Some of the work that we might be doing while on placement might be boring, but it is helpful to the organisation and work that others in can't do, or that we can do quicker. Hopefully we can pass on some of our skills too.

Our evenings were spent in the 'Studio', where myself, Sophie, Sue and two others who were here for the training sat and relaxed, talked and did some work. One night we had a big session with the Poi. Lots of fun. I had forgotten that I actually knew how to use them. Another night we took a walk out too the 'Stupor' and watched the full moon rise... very pretty. Such an amazing view. We also have the resident cat 'Jemima', keeping us company. There is no tv and no internet, so we need to find other ways of entertaining ourselves. I really don't think we will have a problem at all.

I'm looking forward to seeing Saint Lucia this weekend and chatting to the rest of the group about how their 1st week has gone, but I'm also looking forward to what next week will bring.

Note: Photos will be added as soon as I can...


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb