mind the wild dogs...


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » KwaZulu-Natal
October 26th 2009
Published: October 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello. long time eh?
sorry. I have had no internet access.
So I arrived in Camperdown..which is about 20 minutes from PMBurg..
it has been wonderful to be back in KZN, seeing old friends and actually
making new ones..the weather has been a bit rainy, but there have been some lovely days in between.. I am already a little more tan, THANKFULLY!! I was looking a bit pale..
so things are not exactly as they were supposed to be..which is often the case in life..
I won't go into extreme boring details-- but the house that I planned to use for the computer education program is now not available (for the time being) and many of the supplies are not available..
I am stuck between a rock and hard place-- or whatever you say..
as of now, I am staying in Camperdown with Sam and his brothers at the employee housing provided at the farm they work on.. Sams' car went to auto-heaven shortly before I arrived, so it is now too difficult to get from PMBurg to Camperdown each morning for work-- the taxis, as cheap as they are, can add up obviously after a while... so it is just easier to stay there at the provided employee rooms.. they are not much, but I am doing fine.. I have worked a bit with Sam, delivering grass/turf to the new airport, stadium and hotels ( plenty of new construction going on due to the World Cup next year)-- helping supervise the teams etc etc-- but I am not quite sure if his boss is interested (or able) to offer me a paid position--which would be temporary until things come right..
so other options??

here they are:
- somehow buy building materials(cheaper than you think) and build an extra two room house next to Sams' brothers' house in PMBurg( in the same township as Sams')..and use the existing house (1 room) to live in.. and the new one for a shower/toilet room and the second room for hosting computer classes.. his brother has no problem with this as he no longer stays there....
which poses the problem of : getting more computers..at least one more laptop and a printer. 2 that were donated are not working (haha).. so all of that requires money, which requires work, which I don't have. So what do I do??
suggestions are very welcome..


other news: had some awesome Indian food in Shotsworth, totally hot tore my mouth apart..so yummy!
I went with Sams' brothers to the home of his future wife..to present money for lobola(dowry). it was interesting. very strict tradition and it was quite intense actually. i respect the tradition and culture , truly I do..but I must say, in these times of unemployment and very little money-- it is completely absurd. call me unsympathetic or culturally cold-- but to spend 13,000 Rand on a wife..plus 2 cows.. I just don't think it's a positive thing right now..I also met some sangomas (witch doctors), two very nice ladies..and no it's not evil dark stuff..truly.. I asked them about helping my back issues-- but the solution was to cut the spots that hurt with a razor and rub this black powder into it..the powder is the result of burning a certain root and let the remains dry out.. I dunno.. seems risky.
I went with Sam to drop off some of the farm workers in the rural areas where they live-- and saw 2 wild dogs roaming around.. They are so big!! and so-- ugly... but kinda interesting looking as well-- rather they like someone just stitched various dogs together--with a bit of hyena thrown into the mix.. eish.
so mind the wild dogs...

to Joanna: so what is the plan now as Junsuree has been sold??
to Denise: yes please convince her. haha.
to everyone else: thanks for all the friendly comments. it is great to hear from people.
I will try to get on more often, as I found this internet spot, WHICH has USB ports so that means I can start uploading photos again!! I have quite a few from the farm and surrounding areas.. I will try to get those up next week.
take care.

Advertisement



26th October 2009

Hi, Josh.
What a disappointment that your house and your equipment and transportation weren't as promised, but I like your bright attitude: do the best with what you've got. (Did you cry?) Maybe you should present yourself to the people who hired you and tell them you can't do the job without the equipment. They need to follow through on their commitment to you. I hope you've got pictures of those Frankenstein dogs. Do we need to send you instructions on alpha behavior?
27th October 2009

hello
hey i didnt realize i could write to you as i usually read these on my phone. sucks that everything has changed,i hope it all works out for you(i am sure it will). we are thinkin about you and hope your loving it there take care and i will write to you again soon. G's up...
27th October 2009

Housing problems
Hi Josuha, Have been enjoying reading your blog. Sorry that getting going in PMBurg is presenting such a challenge! But we all know that most things in SA present challenges. Good luck!

Tot: 0.637s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 14; qc: 61; dbt: 0.151s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb