Back in KZN


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » KwaZulu-Natal » Durban
October 18th 2009
Published: October 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

our last day in Port St John was slightly hendered by the rain. it began to come down very hard and it was truly pointless to walk outside.. it cleared off a little bit and we were able to walk up to the light house..which I have photos of and will upload later.
Nathan and I took a koombi (taxi) heading towards Durban..we were planning to stop in Mzumbe..but I actually fell asleep in the taxi and we missed our stop.. so we just decided to gp through to Durban. Once we arrived, we contacted Norman and Betty, the couple we had met in Clarens. They live in Umhlanga Rocks, which is a nice suburb of Durban. They had offered us a place to stay anytime. I must say, Nathan has been astonished at how friendly South Africans are.. it is true though. wonderful people, obviously. ; )
We were invited to go with them to this international food fest at their church. the event was raising money towards the church and all the excess foods were given to shelters. it was truly impressive. there were tables of different communities from the area.. Norman headed the Lebanese group. There was representation from Italians, Mauritians, Greek, Portuguese, Indian and Irish. it was great experience, and I tried Orzo which tastes like a sweeter absinthe.. needless to say I slept well and today we plan on visiting Durban with my friend Sam..Nathan loves Indian food and as Durban has the largest Indian community outside of India, they offer a good fare in Indian food. It may be a few days before I can update again.. thank you to my friends and family that are saying such nice things. It means a lot!!

to Aunt Donna- sadly it is not all that clean, some of the cities, like Johannesburg are actually very drab and trashy looking, kind of like Brooklyn. haha. but thankfully the landscapes and less "concrete jungle" like areas make up for it. Love you guys 😊

Advertisement



18th October 2009

Sounds like you had a good time on your last day:) Im sure you enjoyed the indian food! Will you stay in touch with Nathan? I know you are glad to see Sam:) Im excited to hear about what you two start doing on your shower!! I still cannot believe your new video camera stopped working, maybe someone can look at it? I hope so. We have had none-stop rain here also, but the sun is shining and the weather is beautiful and crisp!! Hey! I put a S.African flag on my farm in farmville!!! lol miss you, love you bigger than the universe!! remember that? Mom

Tot: 0.314s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0975s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb