I'm on a roll.....


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » KwaZulu-Natal » Howick
October 31st 2009
Published: October 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, well, well!
Today's been quite a lazy day, I've stayed at home all day, with the exception of a quick trip to the Spar! I woke up with an incredibly sore throat, so decided I'd rather stay in bed and watch a movie than get up - the luxury of a rare day without plans! Today was a lovely warm day, so I thought it might do me some good to sit outside for a while. A while lasted about 2 minutes, when I decided the sun was too hot and bright, so came back inside! Some smartie pants would probably remind me at this point that the sun is always hot and bright, it's a burning ball of gas, but you know what I mean.
I decided that, given the lack of plans, it would be a good time to crack on with my TEFL course, which is all about English grammar. Well, you've all read my blog, I didn't think my grammar was all that bad, but it turns out, I know nothing. I thought nouns, for example, were really quite simple, but it turns out there's lots more different kinds of nouns than I thought, don't even get me started on gerunds!I struggled on for a few hours, then decided I'd rather do my Zulu lesson - it's saying something when you'd rather learn about nouns in a foreign language than your own! There's just too many exceptions to the rule in English, in fact I'm sure there are more exceptions than rules! Lucky we learnt it as our first language, there's no way I would try to learn it as a second or third language!
The Zulu lesson went OK, my progress is slowing down a bit now, but still any kind of progress is good! My throat still being very sore, I thought I'd check it out, so I had a peek in the mirror & my tonsils are rather red & angry, with little white spots. Bad news indeed. I don't think I've had tonsillitis all year, which is typical as I'd like to have them taken out, but you have to have it 5 times in a year - I think I got up to 4 last year! I waited around for Nurse Shelly to come home, briefly popping to the spar for some honey & lemon, then I forgot the lemon anyway! Ooo yesterday at the spar, I saw a very heavily armed guard sneaking along the wall like one of those guys from action movies. He was carrying a very big gun, yes that is the extent of my knowledge about guns, and had little guns poking out of a huge belt and one of those criss-crossy things over his chest. OK, that's a rubbish description, you'd think after all those years of watching Bond etc I'd have some idea about these things, hopefully you get the picture! Luckily, I was in my car just about to leave because it was really quite scary. Today, there were 2 soldiers in there too, they were blocking up almost the whole aisle, having an animated discussion/argument (I find it hard to tell in Zulu!). I cautiously slinked past them, not daring to interrupt their conversation to say "excuse me".
Anyway, when Shelly came home, she confirmed it is definitely tonsillitis & she gave me some antibiotics to take, along with the multitude of tablets I am already taking! She also pointed out that there are 3 lemon trees in the garden, I'm such a muppet! So that's pretty much my day - short but sweet - hope yours was much more exciting!

Over n out

Advertisement



1st November 2009

tonsillitis
Hi Claire Sorry we havent sent any messages recently but we had to wipe our computer and reinstall everything! Probably something to do with little David overloading it with games! Sorry to hear that you have tonsillitis. I suffered from that myself when I was younger and at the age of 11 I had my tonsills out. I was one of the oldest ones on the ward having that done, all the others were about 4 or 5 years old! We hope the antibiotics take effect quickly and that you feel better soon. We are praying for your health to be restored so you can continue with the fantastic work you are doing. Take care. Thinking and praying for you all.

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb