#FlashinSouthAfrica Day 2


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » KwaZulu-Natal » Durban
July 16th 2012
Published: July 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Currently at a networking event for NGOs, this is a starting project to develop stronger links between NGO’s and those who can help, whether it is funding, volunteers, societies etc

It is brilliant to be invited and witness empowering movements like this in South Africa. There a range of sectors present which include organisations which work towards positive change in HIV/AIDS, Feeding Schemes, Child Welfare, Employment etc

I came across a gentleman of 70 years old by the name of Raj.

Raj is an extremely inspiring individual. He ran a shelter of 30+people and discussed how he became a father figure who people within the shelter looked up to. He helped them to be fed and taught them important life principles.

He said that some people he had to work with were bad people, admitting to be not the toughest person he stated his strength and faith in God enabled him to develop great courage and as a result these people respected him.

He also said that he is not rich. He does not have a car however, but he said that these things do not matter. The positive change he aims at creating is more important to him. He did not want donations all he wanted is to help others to create a better future. He believes that God is important in these youth’s lives in order to give them a true guide on how to become better people. I am truly inspired and it has made me reflect on my own views.



Not sure if I wrote this but after my performance yesterday, ZKL (the performer who inspired me to perform my ‘Black is Beautiful’ poem) asked to do a track with me.

He picked out a beat today, wrote a chorus to it and performed it to me. He then told me the concept. He wanted the song to be about our worldview and how God has a plan for us but he didn’t tell us that life was unfair. I loved the idea of the song and got writing to it right away.

One of my aims this year was to record and perform new music. Music has been a passion that has never lost my heart and it is great to finally get back to doing what I love.

Within 24 hours this trip has already been one of the best times of my life. I really have to give God thanks for everything that I’ve been blessed with this year. This is just the beginning. I feel like this year I was born again.





<br class="Apple-interchange-newline" />

Advertisement



Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0625s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb